The Inside Story of Banking & Financial Services in China

The Inside Story of Banking & Financial Services in China

Mainland China, a superpower known for many superlatives in the global economy, has been responsible for the rapid development in AI technology and being home to a third of the world’s corporate unicorns. It is also arguably a strong contender to Silicon Valley as the world’s mecca for the tech industry, and a global force to be reckoned with where capabilities in the life sciences arena are concerned. To further fuel its behemoth of an economy, Mainland China’s Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), a project that is perhaps unprecedented in ambition and scope in the modern era, looks externally to the development of neighbouring countries as a way of simultaneously encouraging its own productivity. Industries along the length and breadth of the ‘road’ – and beyond – are looking into ways of taking advantage of the vast profits that the scheme may produce. And at the heart of all of this, is the banking sector.

The BRI has been key to driving engineering and construction sectors in Mainland China, benefitting Chinese engineering procurement construction (EPC) providers while compelling them to improve their business models and operating systems in response to heightened demands for international standards.

According to the Global Times, as far as funding EPC projects go, Liu Jingsheng, Managing Director at investment bank China International Capital Corp, said that as EPC projects typically span for a prolonged period, “project financing should be more market-oriented.” She added, “Many EPC projects are still largely funded by bank loans, but more diverse and innovative financing models should be introduced into the EPC industry in the near future.”

gfdgdh

CIB SENIOR RELATIONSHIP MANAGERS AND EXPORT FINANCE MANAGERS WITH EXPERIENCE IN SERVICING BOTH SOE AND POE CLIENTELE ARE HIGH IN DEMAND

As a result of heightened EPC activity, both Asian and European banks across the country have been seeing a greater need to service State-Owned Enterprises (SOEs) and Private-Owned Enterprises (POEs) in the infrastructure, power, and energy fields. Corporate Institution Banking (CIB) Relationship Managers and Export Finance Managers with experience in dealing with such clientele are therefore extremely sought after. Candidates with banking product knowledge for project and export finance, DCM, cash management, trade finance, and syndication loan are even more coveted by employers.

Be that as it may, the banking talent pool within Mainland China remains small, and employers are in a heated rivalry to attract and secure top candidates in the market. In particular, there is also a notable trend of medium-sized, regional Asian financial institutions ramping up their efforts to venture into new client portfolios, thereby requiring candidates with strong business development capabilities. This unique mix of skillset and experience may be significantly challenging to obtain as most of the suitable talent would come from bigger players who are more mature in the market.

Along with impressive technical aptitude, candidates in this field must also possess a strong network of state-owned enterprise (SOE) and private-owned enterprise (POE) clients from the aforementioned industries. In particular, candidates from Mainland China Policy banks, such as the Mainland China export and import banks, would have strong connections with SOE and POE clients in these fields, making them the ideal choice to drive new client acquisition plans.

PRIVATE EQUITY INVESTORS ARE DRAWN TO THE PROMISE OF MAINLAND CHINA’S BOOMING HEALTHCARE INDUSTRY, MORE PE/INVESTMENT BANKING CANDIDATES REQUIRED

Over the past decade, Mainland China’s life sciences industry has faced a major transformation in efforts to bring the country to pharmaceutical and biotech superpower status. With an average annual sales revenue growth of 21.4 per cent, the Chinese pharmaceutical market appears to be fast reaching its USD 220 billion-dollar goal by 2020 according to Deloitte, parring with the US as the largest contributor to the global pharmaceutical market.

On those grounds, private equity (PE) firms and hedge funds are drawn to the promise of the country’s healthcare industry. PE and investment banking candidates with strong financial analysis and aptitude in financial modelling, on top of experience or education in pharmacy or biochemical, are therefore highly sought after. Most venture capitalists are more inclined to employ candidates with skills and experience related to the industry over finance skills.

A good fit for a mid-level PE/investment role should have had proven investment track record within the employer’s specific sector in the life sciences industry. For more senior-level associates, a strong industry network as well as the ability to raise funds and manage a team would be crucial for their success in their role.

REGULATORY CHANGES IN RISK AND COMPLAINCE ARE LEADING TO INCREASED HIRING OF RISK AUDITORS AND COMPLIANCE SPECIALISTS

In the face of growing risks in the financial system throughout Mainland China, banking and insurance regulators had merged in 2017 to form the Financial Supervision and Development committee. Since then, many regulations have been in place to address such risks. The recent wave of cases on corrupt P2P platforms has led to a tightened regulatory environment, thereby leading to a heightened emphasis on risk control and fine-tuning regulations.

In addition, banks across the country have been stepping up their Artificial Intelligence (AI) game. In fact, in a Deloitte report, when asked about the areas in which AI has had the greatest impact, 29 per cent of banks and 56 per cent of insurance firms said ‘risk management’, while 22 per cent of the latter also said ‘compliance’. The report also concluded that, “overall, the adoption of AI in FS is still in its infancy. Of the firms surveyed, 40 per cent were still learning how AI could be deployed in their organisations, and 11 per cent had not started any activities. Only 32 per cent were actively developing AI solutions.”

ysryesytesrs

As such, there has more emphasis on securing adept risk audit and compliance talent with the right knowledge and expertise of the most updated regulations. Being in the know about how AI affects the risk and compliance function would also benefit them greatly, especially with the increasing adoption of AI in work processes. In South China, this trend has been picking up alongside the “significant opportunities” in innovation, business development and regulatory control that the Greater Bay Area presents.

Because of the longstanding talent-short market in the areas of risk and compliance, financial institutions have been pulling out all the stops to grow the candidate market. Many firms have eschewed foreign talent and instead launched management trainee programmes to coach entry-level employees and fresh graduates.

If you would like to discuss this report in more depth or you wish to discuss your job search or recruitment needs, please email our consultants.

North and East China:

Sophia Zhang, Business Manager, Banking and Financial Services, Hays North and East China Sophia.Zhang@hays.cn

Anita Wang, Manager, Banking and Financial Services, Hays Beijing Anita.Wang@hays.cn

South China:

Cissy Xie, Manager, Banking and Financial Services, Hays Guangzhou Cissy.Xie@hays.cn

中国大陆银行与金融服务行业报告

中国大陆银行与金融服务行业报告

大中华区以其在全球经济中的诸多顶尖成就而闻名,它见证了AI技术的快速发展,也拥有全球三分之一的独角兽企业。它不仅有望取代硅谷成为科技行业的圣地,在生命科学领域中的研发能力同样不容小觑。为了进一步推动庞大的经济体系,中国提出了“一带一路”倡议(BRI),希望通过邻国的发展进一步推动自己的生产力,这一倡议的雄心与规模前所未有。“海上丝绸之路”沿线的各个行业正希望分享这一鸿图所带来的巨大利益。而其中最重要的行业之一就是银行业。

一带一路已经成为了推动大中华区工程建设行业发展的关键,惠及了中国的各工程采购建设(EPC)供应商,并促使他们优化自身的业务模式和经营体系,以满足国际标准的高要求。

《环球时报》报道,中国国际金融股份有限公司董事总经理刘京生表示,就EPC项目的资金支持而言,EPC项目的持续时间通常较长,“项目融资应该更以市场为导向。”她还补充道:“许多EPC项目的资金主要来自银行贷款,但在不久的将来,EPC行业需要更多元、更创新的融资模式。”

拥有国企和私企客户服务经验的业务高级关系经理和出口金融经理市场需求旺盛

由于EPC活动较为活跃,国内的亚洲与欧洲银行发现,国企(SOE)和私企(POE)对基础设施、能源和电力领域内的人才服务需求大幅提升。拥有相关客户服务经验的企业及金融机构业务(CIB)关系经理和出口金融经理因此广受追捧。了解项目与出口金融、DCM、现金管理、贸易金融和银团贷款相关银行产品的应聘人才也深受雇主们的青睐。

即便如此,大中华区的银行业人才依然稀缺,对市场顶尖人才的吸引和争夺也越发白热化。尤其是中型的地区性亚洲金融机构正在积极探索新市场客户,这一趋势要求应聘人才具备出色的业务开发能力。这样独特的技能和经验要求使人才招聘成为了一大挑战,而具备相关经验的大部分人才都已经加入市场中更为成熟的大型企业。

除了技术能力之外,该领域中的候选人还必须拥有上述行业中国企和私企客户的人脉网络。特别是中国进出口银行等政策性银行的应聘人才,他们与该领域中的国企和私企客户联系紧密,因此是推动新客户开发计划的理想人才。

私募股权投资者深受发展迅猛的中国医疗卫生行业所吸引,愈加渴求私募/投资银行业务人才

在过去10年里,中国大陆的生命科学行业进行了重大转型,推动中国成为了制药与生物科技行业的巨头。根据德勤的数据,中国制药市场的年销售增长率高达21.4%,正在快速接近其于2020年达2,200亿美元的目标。届时,中国将和美国并列成为全球制药市场中的最大参与方。 在这样的背景下,私募股权(PE)公司和对冲基金也深受医疗卫生行业发展的吸引。雇主们愈加青睐具备金融分析和金融建模能力,并拥有制药或生物化学行业经验或教育背景的PE和投资银行业务人才。大部分风险投资人在招聘候选人时更注重与行业相关的经验技能,而非金融技能。

对中层的PE/投资职务而言,候选人需要在雇主所处的生命科学细分领域中拥有成功的投资成就。对更高层的人员而言,行业人脉、筹集资金与管理团队的能力将会是成功的关键。

风险与合规的监管变化将导致风险审计员与合规专员需求增加

随着大中华区金融系统风险的不断增长,银行与保险监管者在2017年建立了金融稳定发展委员会。自此,已有多部法规出台以应对相关风险。近期的多起P2P平台贪腐案件导致监管环境收紧,风险管控和法规微调从而成为了各界关注的焦点。

此外,全国的各大银行也加快了人工智能(AI)的运用。德勤的报告表明,在问及AI影响最大的领域时,29%的银行和56%的保险公司认为是“风险管理”,后者中有22%还选择了“合规”。该报告同时补充道:“调查同时得出,总体而言,金融服务领域的AI运用仍处于起步阶段。在受访企业中,40%还在学习如何将AI融入到企业中,11%尚未开始任何活动。仅32%正在积极主动地开发AI解决方案。”

因此,熟知最新法规的专业风险审计与合规人才成为了人才竞争的焦点。随着AI在工作流程中的广泛应用,了解AI对风险与合规职能的影响对企业而言大有裨益。在华南地区,这一趋势风头正劲,不亚于大湾区所呈现的创新、业务发展和法规控制等“重大机遇”。

由于风险与合规领域的人才长期短缺,金融机构采取了各类手段,旨在全力促进人才市场的发展。许多企业放弃了对外国人才的招聘,改为发起管培生项目,用以培养初级员工和应届毕业生。

如果您希望深度探讨本篇报告,或希望讨论您的求职或招聘需求,您可通过电子邮件联系我们的顾问。

华北及华东区:

瀚纳仕华北及华东区银行与金融服务业务经理Sophia Zhang Sophia.Zhang@hays.cn

瀚纳仕北京银行与金融服务经理 Anita Wang Anita.Wang@hays.cn

华南区:

瀚纳仕银行与金融服务经理 Cissy Xie Cissy.Xie@hays.cn