中国供应链行业报告

The Inside Story of Supply Chain in China

 

China, the second largest economy and leading provider of manufacturing services in the world, has recently seen troubling developments in its ever-growing export markets. Since 2018, the ongoing ‘trade war’ initiated by the U.S. has destabilised industries the world over and disrupted China’s position as the heart of global supply chain systems. Rising tariffs, political tensions and the resulting economic slowdown have put reactiveness, change management and strategic planning at the forefront of supply chain management (SCM) functions in the country, alongside an ongoing focus on digital transformation.

Labour market overview: China stays afloat amidst turbulent waters

Despite the continuing onslaught of tariffs that show no sign of slowing, China’s domestic strength and global influence has kept its economy surprisingly stable. According to economic research consultancy Capital Economics, the reasons for this include a strategically weaker yuan, strong domestic markets and the country’s decision to ship U.S.-bound exports to other Asian countries to circumvent the tariffs. While U.S. demand was affected, these remedial factors resulted in China eventually seeing a slight increase in its exports, bringing it up to almost 12 per cent of the world’s total [1].This combination of volatility and stability is reflected in China’s Supply Chain labour market as well.

North-East China

The city centre of Shanghai, for example, has seen some movement in terms of U.S.-based companies moving their sourcing offices to neighbouring countries like Bangladesh and Vietnam. But MNC companies have remained relatively stable as compared to last year, explains Caroline Lin, the Section Manager for Procurement & Supply Chain at Hays China. “The slowing economy has led these companies to focus more on driving digital transformation, like omni-channel and e-commerce supply chains. Their objective is to build up their digital supply chain systems.” Next door in Suzhou, there has been a significant impact on the B2B sector and sourcing function. “Companies are trying to keep costs as low as possible because they are unsure how their future revenues will be impacted by rising tariffs,” says Christian Lepolard, Business Director for Hays Suzhou. “The trade war has forced them to review and further optimise their supply chain and sourcing strategy. If they have to export to the U.S., for example, but keep manufacturing in China, then the only way to absorb the raise in tariffs is to decrease costs, starting with the price for raw materials. Industries in consumer sector like FMCG and e-commerce, are also moving in this direction.”

South China

In the industrial centre of Guangzhou, Cece Tang, Team Manager for Procurement at Hays Guangzhou, observed a shift in labour market activity from B2B to B2C. “Last year, the majority of our placements came from the industrial sector. But this year, the focus is on companies who are selling within China, so the supply chain industry is now focussing on retail and FMCG.” Similarly in Shenzhen, the impact of the trade war on U.S. companies has been significant, with a number of them moving out to Cambodia or Vietnam due to the rising cost of raw materials and manufacturing. “Some U.S. companies are making a business transformation from manufacturing to sourcing because China still has the technological and engineering capabilities for manufacturing. So they will still keep the supply chain in here but move the manufacturing out,” says Lillian Chen, Team Manager for Manufacturing and Ops at Hays Shenzhen. General economic growth remains stable, however, owing to government policies that support SMEs in the region and continued investment from European companies, especially in raw materials.

Skills in Demand: Business Transformation at the Forefront

According to a poll conducted by law firm Baker McKenzie, 93 per cent of Chinese companies were considering making some change to their supply chains in the wake of trade tariffs. Of these, 18 per cent were considering a complete supply chain and production transformation, 58 per cent were making major changes, 17 per cent were making small changes, and only seven per cent were making no changes at all [2]. This focus on change has greatly informed the demand for specific supply chain skills in the country.

Business transformation capabilities, for example, are at the top of the list. According to Catherine Zhang, Team Manager for Procurement & Supply Chain at Hays Shanghai, “For senior roles, this translates into end-to-end supply chain experience, merger and acquisitions knowledge, understanding of SOP (standard operating procedures) and implementing compliance and IBP (integrated business planning).” The corresponding senior roles in demand are Supply Chain Director, Supply Chain Excellence and specific IBP roles. Similarly, demand planning skill sets are also gaining more importance, owing to the part they play in setting up a company’s overall M&P (maintenance and procurement) process, as well as improving supply chain processes to make them more efficient and connected than before. Demand planning roles have been hot in the market for recent years, but skilled talent for these roles are still in huge demand. While the supply chain labour market currently favours employers, this is one niche area where suitable candidates can still have bargaining leverage. There has also been a rise in demand for indirect procurement skills and strategy, owing to its critical impact on costs.

Soft Skills Highly Desired

Since companies are trying to keep their costs low during this time of transformation, the ideal candidate would be good at identifying suppliers, negotiating terms and conditions, and have an existing network of useful connections. Stakeholder management and soft skills, which are directly related to succeeding in this function, will also help set a candidate apart. In fact, stakeholder management and soft skills such as the ability to work with counterparts across regions, are in high demand in most Supply Chain functions spanning both leadership and mid-level roles.

Mid-level roles such as Sourcing Managers, Planning Managers and Commodity Managers are also very much in demand at the moment. Mid-level candidates are expected to have a good amount of technical and operational experience to work independently, but also coordinate across departments. Cross border trading experience and market insights are also highly desired traits. Finally, there is also an uptick in ‘reactiveness’ as a requirement from employers, with recent events showing that proactivity is no longer enough. The experience and ability to react and adapt quickly to change has become increasingly important in the last year.

Candidates encouraged to upskill – Employers encouraged to strengthen candidate attraction strategy

For China’s supply chain industry at large, the jobs market currently favours employers as a conservative outlook and widespread cost cutting has led to more candidates in the market than roles. This puts candidates at a disadvantage when it comes to pay raises, flexible working and other benefits, while stressing the importance of upskilling. However, for potential employers, this means that high-value candidates who are already gainfully employed are not likely to leave their current role unless offered a significant upgrade and roadmap for progression. The domestic focus has also led to less opportunity for foreign workers, meaning that companies have to offer outstanding packages and benefits if they are to attract the right local candidates in this market.

For those vying for senior level roles, upskilling in change management could significantly increase their market value. Change management is essentially a combination of solid industry knowledge, stakeholder management, strategic planning, leadership skills, and global market insights – organisations that are on the path to change are specifically looking for senior candidates who can leverage this know-how and advise the company on its best way forward. On the employer side, some companies (especially in the industrial regions) are ready to invest in professional upskilling for their senior and top performing employees. This includes supply chain certifications like CSCP, CPIM, and additional certifications for people in supply chain and procurement.

A digital future

Last year marked the rise of automation in supply chain in China, such as the increasing use of robots in warehouses to improve efficiency and security. This trend has continued into this year, with an increasing focus on digitalisation owing to more Chinese companies recognising and embracing the potential benefits of IoT and AI to digitising the supply chain. A recent report by Deloitte defined this shift from, “linear, sequential supply chain operations to an interconnected, open system of supply operations could lay the foundation for how companies compete in the future,” as a digital supply network (DSN) [3]. Digital skills like data analysis and IT knowledge are currently in demand and are likely to grow exponentially along with industry 4.0. Keen candidates can highlight their technical backgrounds and IT experience as the current trend in supply chain is to minimise error and increase efficiency. The whole function is moving towards an increasing importance on technical skills and the ability to monitor workflow, owing to the rise of automation.

Much like its economy, China’s supply chain labour market has proven resilient in the face of change. And while restructuring is both imminent and ongoing, opportunities remain for qualified candidates who can augment their negotiations by preparing and upskilling to best equip themselves to this change. Focusing on digital skills and communication could well be the differentiating factors for a supply chain hopeful, provided they also exhibit the resilience and resourcefulness precipitated by China’s current economic climate.

If you would like to discuss this report in more depth or you wish to discuss your recruitment needs, please email:

Shanghai: Caroline Lin at Caroline.Lin@hays.cn; Catherine Zhang at Catherine.Zhang@hays.cn

Suzhou: Christian Lepolard at Christian.Lepolard@hays.cn

Guangzhou: Cece Tang at Cece.Tang@hays.cn

Shenzhen: Lillian Chen at Lillian.Chen@hays.cn; Serena Zhang at Serena.Zhang@hays.cn

中国供应链行业报告

中国供应链行业报告

中国是世界第二大经济体,也是全球领先的制造业服务供应基地,但最近,其始终保持增长的出口市场遇到了发展阻碍。自2018年起,由美国发起的“贸易战”给全球各行各业带来了不稳定性,并影响到了中国作为全球供应链系统核心的地位。上涨的关税、紧张的政治局势以及随之而来的经济放缓,这些让反应速度、变革管理及战略规划成为了中国公司供应链管理(SCM)部门关注的重点,并与数字化转型并驾齐驱。

劳动力市场概览:中国在乱局之中临危不乱

尽管关税上涨的压力源源不断,且看不到缓解的迹象,但中国强大的本土市场和全球影响力仍使其经济保持了稳定。根据经济研究与咨询公司凯投宏观(Capital Economics)的分析,这一现象的原因包括人民币的战略性走弱、强大的国内市场,以及政府将对美出口转向其它亚洲国家以避开关税的决策。虽然来自美国的需求受到影响,但这些补救性措施最终仍使得中国的出口额实现了些许增长,使其达到了世界总量的近12% [1]。这种灵活与稳定相结合的表现也反映在了中国的供应链劳动力市场中。

中国东区及北区

举例来说,一些美国公司将其采购部门从上海市中心转移到了其它邻近国家,例如孟加拉和越南。但瀚纳仕中国的采购与供应链市场经理Caroline Lin表示,相比去年,各跨国公司还是保持了相对稳定的情况。“经济放缓促使这些公司将更多的注意力投向数字转型,例如全渠道和电商供应链。它们的目标是建立自己的数字化供应链系统。”在临近的苏州,B2B市场和采购部门也受到了重大的影响。瀚纳仕苏州的业务总监Christian Lepolard说道:“各公司正试图尽可能地控制成本,因为它们不知道关税会给未来的营收带来怎样的影响。贸易战迫使它们不得不审视和进一步优化自己的供应链及采购策略。比方说,如果它们必须出口至美国,但又要在中国进行生产,那么缓解上涨关税影响的唯一办法就是降低成本,而首当其冲的就是原材料价格。消费品行业,例如快消品和电商,都在朝着这个方向采取行动。”

中国南区

在工业中心广州,瀚纳仕广州的采购团队经理Cece Tang发现,劳动力市场的活动正从B2B转向B2C。“在去年,我们大部分的职位都来自工业领域。但在今年,职位的主要来源变为了在中国国内开展销售的公司,所以供应链行业目前的重点是零售和快消品。”深圳的情况也与之类似,贸易战对美国公司造成了明显的影响,由于原材料及制造成本上升,许多公司都转移到了柬埔寨或越南。瀚纳仕深圳的制造与运营团队经理Lillian Chen表示:“一些美国公司正逐渐从制造业务转向为采购业务,因为中国仍然有着制造业所需的技术和设计实力。所以它们仍然会将供应链留在这里,只是把制造部门转移出去。”不过,总体经济增长仍然保持了稳定,因为政府在采取政策支持当地的中小型企业,并且仍有欧洲公司不断来此投资。

人才需求:业务转型迫在眉睫

由律师事务所Baker McKenzie进行的一项问卷调查显示,93%的中国公司正打算对供应链做出改变,以缓解贸易关税的影响。其中,18%的公司打算进行全面的供应链和生产系统转型,58%做出了重大的改变,17%做出了较小的改变,仅有7%完全没有做出改变。[2] 它们对于变革的重视清晰地显示了中国对于拥有特定技能的供应链人才的需求。

举例来说,业务转型能力是最受看重的能力之一。瀚纳仕上海的采购与供应链团队经理Catherine Zhang表示:“在高级职位方面,即意味着端对端供应链的从业经验、兼并与收购相关知识、对SOP(标准运营流程)的了解以及实施合规措施和IBP(综合业务规划)的能力。”与之对应的热门高级职位有供应链总监、供应链优化以及具体IBP相关的岗位。类似的,紧缺的需求规划类人才也愈发地受到重视。他们对建立公司的综合M&P(维护与采购)流程、改善供应链流程有着重要意义,并能够让这些流程更加高效和互联。需求规划类职位在近年来的市场中一直都很热门,但有这类能力的资深人才仍然供不应求。虽然供应链劳动力市场目前对雇佣方有利,但在这一专门领域中,适任的人才仍有资格争取更高待遇。市场对间接的采购类技能与策略的需求也有所增长,因为它们对于成本有着重要的影响。

软技能深受青睐

由于公司希望在转型期间压低成本,其所需的理想人才就要擅长分辨供应商、协商合同条款并且自带有用的人脉。利益相关方管理能力和软技能直接关系到这份工作的成败,也是让人才脱颖而出的亮点所在。事实上,大多数供应链部门内的高级和中级岗位都十分重视利益相关方管理能力和软技能,例如与其它地区的同类部门合作的能力。

例如采购经理、规划经理和商品经理等中层岗位的人才目前也深受欢迎。中层岗位的求职者需要有充分的技术与运营工作资历,能够独自完成工作,同时还要能与各个部门进行合作。跨境贸易经历和对市场的理解都是公司十分看重的人才特质。最后,雇佣方对于“反应能力”的要求也有所提升,因为近来的事件表明,光是“主动”还不够。从过去一年的趋势来看,快速应变的能力和经验显得愈发重要。

求职者应当提升能力——雇主应当改善人才吸引策略

对于整个中国的供应链行业,求职市场目前前景保守,更有利于雇佣方,而普遍的成本缩减措施也导致求职者的数量多于职位空缺的数量。这就使得求职者在寻求加薪、灵活工作和其它福利时陷入了不利的局面,同时也凸显了提升能力的重要性。然而对于招聘人才的雇佣方来说,已经全职就业的高价值人才更不可能离开原来的岗位,除非雇佣方提供明显更优渥的职位待遇和发展机会。这种国内市场走向导致外国工作者的机会减少,也意味着公司必须提供超乎寻常的待遇和福利,才能吸引到市场中的本地人才。

至于受到争抢的高级职位,提升变革管理能力将能够显著提升求职者的市场价值。变革管理本质上意味着拥有深厚的行业知识,具备利益相关方管理能力、战略规划能力、领导能力和了解全球市场等。正在变革的公司尤为渴望应聘其高级职位的求职者能够运用这些能力,为公司提供尽可能好的发展建议。从雇佣方的视角来看,一些公司(尤其在工业行业)已经打算为其高层团队和优秀员工提供专业的能力提升培训。这包括了供应链类证书培训,例如CSCP、CPIM和其它供应链及采购人员所需的证书。

数字化未来

去年见证了供应链自动化在中国的发展,例如在仓库中普及运用机器人以提升效率和安全性。这种趋势在今年也将延续,并将更加关注数字化发展。这是因为有越来越多的中国公司意识到物联网和数字化AI供应链所具有的潜力。德勤的一份近期报告将这种转变定义为数字化供应网络(DSN),它“从线性而连续的供应链运营转变为了互联而开放的供应链系统,这或许是公司在未来竞争中的立身根本。’’ [3] 例如数据分析和IT知识之类的数字技能目前需求旺盛,且很可能随着工业4.0的发展而呈指数级增长。由于供应链行业目前的趋势是减少错误、提升效率,积极的求职者们可以强调他们的技术背景和IT经验。整个市场愈发重视技术能力和管控工作流程的能力,而这都源于自动化发展趋势。

就像整体经济一样,中国的供应链劳动力市场在面对变化时也展现出了其抗压能力。产业重组的浪潮即将迫近,甚至已经到来,而机会就留给了那些有资质的人才。他们可以通过提升自身能力来应对变革,以争取更好的待遇。数字技能和沟通能力可能也将成为供应链应聘者的差异化要素,但前提是他们同时还要展现出足以应对中国当前经济形势的抗压能力和智慧。

如果您希望深入探讨本报告中的内容,或者想要讨论您的招聘需求,请发邮件至: 

上海: Caroline Lin Caroline.Lin@hays.cn; Catherine Zhang Catherine.Zhang@hays.cn

苏州: Christian Lepolard Christian.Lepolard@hays.cn

广州: Cece Tang Cece.Tang@hays.cn

深圳: Lillian Chen Lillian.Chen@hays.cn; Serena Zhang Serena.Zhang@hays.cn