The Inside Story of HR in China

The Inside Story of HR in China

The ongoing global economic slowdown contributed to 2019 being a year of uncertainty for many countries in the ASEAN region, shaking even the comparatively stable and developed economic landscape of China. A large section of this can be attributed to the US-China trade war that despite reaching phase one of an agreement in December, will still see tariffs remain on hundreds of billions of dollars’ worth of goods from both sides. Speaking to the South China Morning Post, founder of Alibaba Jack Ma commented that, “The year 2019 has been tough. Those of us running businesses know that every year is tough … in past years only some entrepreneurs have found it hard, but in 2019 probably most entrepreneurs have found it difficult.”

But despite difficulties, China’s economy has remained relatively stable and kept momentum by focusing on domestic growth. Additionally, the country’s relatively stable political landscape has given businesses the advantage of being able to plan for the long-term and invest in growth. When combined with the sheer size and relevance of its market in the global landscape, this has translated to both local and multinational companies being willing to invest significantly in securing top talent and growing their workforces quickly. This comes alongside a vibrant and innovative HR-tech landscape that falls in line with the country’s position as global leader in technologies.

These factors have contributed to a measured but steady growth for China’s HR labour market in 2020. With many organisations set to improve work culture and employer branding, the industry outlook remains positive but lends the advantage to candidates with specialised HR skill sets, data capabilities and experience in leading and implementing organisational change.

Market Overview: Cautious hiring as organisations restructure for change

“The ongoing economic slowdown has contributed to a quieter hiring market across China,” shares Yuyan Cheng, Senior Manager for Hays Shanghai. “Both organisations and clients are becoming more cautious when offering or seeking jobs, including within the HR function.” While some industrial sectors remain shaky, most of the current hiring demand is from the life science, high tech and consumer services sectors, she shares. Hiring is also concentrated within mid-senior level candidates whose roles are generally operational in nature, while hiring for junior level roles has been somewhat impacted by influx of HR-tech.

Both MNC’s and local companies with plans to expand overseas lead the demand for HRBP and Talent Acquisition specialists, as well as Talent Development (TD) and Organisation Development (OD) candidates who can help set up entire HR structures. As Yuyan explains, “Several companies across China are currently undergoing restructuring and organisational change. This has led to a demand for not only OD talent but those with insight into change management.”

Candidates with MNC backgrounds, solid local business knowledge and overseas experience are most preferred for such roles, which has led to a skills gap in the current HR talent pool in a relatively job short market. As Jane Zhang, Senior Manager for Hays Beijing shares, “Organisations are putting more time and effort to look for the right candidate as while there are a several candidates in the market, not many match the specialised skillsets they are looking for. Finding the right culture fit is also important for HR roles in particular, which can lead to jobs being kept open for even six months at a time.”

But despite a conservative outlook on hiring, compensation remains competitive for candidates that make the cut. Both MNCs and local companies are willing to pay premium for specialised and senior candidates, with listed companies even offering stock options, adds Ashley Ye, Senior Consultant at Hays Shanghai.

Skills in Demand: HR specialisation and data prowess

Organisations across China are raising standards when it comes to the academic qualifications of HR professionals, making it almost a requisite to have a bachelor’s degree, and ideally from an overseas location such as the U.S., U.K or Australia. The same standards are now applying to professional backgrounds as well, says Yuyan, “Previously, many HR professionals used to begin their careers as professional or executive assistants. But today, organisations prefer those who started in junior HR roles and moved their way up. The market is now becoming more specialist and particularly for HRBP roles, organisations prefer candidates who specialise in one or more HR functions (such as talent acquisition, training or compensation and benefits) and have basic know-how of others.”

The ability to collect and analyse data is also in high demand, which is most evident in local companies who are increasingly setting up ‘middle office’ functions to align front and back offices. As Jane explains, “Front office HR is more focused on daily interaction with the business, while the back office is more focused on data, systems and compliance or operations related tasks. Sometimes there can be a huge gap between both these functions, which has led to the creation of a middle office. Such roles require candidates who are more strategic and can collect data to analyse and implement methodologies that can positively impact the business.” Junior-mid level candidates are increasingly expected to have data prowess, including those in staffing, TA and HRBP roles, to help them have a full picture or map out candidate trends and predict future talent needs.

Business Acumen Increasingly Vital

Another increasingly common requirement is strong business acumen, as companies look to elevate HR from a support function to an advisory one. This is particularly the case for senior candidate, shares Yuyan, who need to, “understand business trends and who have operational experience but also a strategic mindset to plan ahead for the long term.” In addition to these, Jane shares that local companies are looking to hire senior candidates with, “practical experience in transforming an organisation or managing the merging of business units.” All of these requirements are underlined by strong communication skills, which are needed to advise both internal and external stakeholders.

Senior roles in demand include OD or TD senior managers, as well as senior TA managers and senior HRBP. OD and TD candidates are particularly hard to source in the market, as the majority of them come from consulting firms and often do not see the need or value to changeover to organisation-side roles. “Quite a lot of companies want to conduct organisational change or talent development to ensure they have strong talent pipeline. They want to hire people who can help change the business, but there is currently a mismatch in their expectations and the current talent pool,” shares Yuyan. The shortage is further exacerbated by the inability to hire senior candidates from overseas, owing to the extensive knowledge of local labour laws and climate that is needed for such roles.

Organisations ramp up employer branding and training

There has been an uptick in employer branding roles across China, as companies invest in highlighting their unique work cultures and build a reputation their employees would be proud of. This goes hand in hand with a growing demand for HR employees, especially junior ones, to have digital and social media skills to aid in these endeavours. A conducive work culture is becoming increasingly important to cater to staff from newer generations who prioritise chemistry with their hiring managers and teammates. However, hiring new employees always comes with risk, and YuYan advises organisations to invest more in their internal training to combat this. Candidates also highly value orientation training, as well as career development opportunities like training and tuition reimbursement. To cater to this, “some companies even sponsor high potential staff for 1-year MBA courses,” Yuyan shares.

Candidates are advised to develop their skills in tandem with business demands, if they are to stay relevant in an increasingly selective market. New technology will continue to impact HR roles, pushing candidates to hone and specialise their skill sets to continue adding value. Developing business acumen is another need of the hour, as the HR function continues to transform and gain visibility. As Yuyan signs off, “The future will see HR be put together with sales and commercial functions as the front of the business. For this, HR professionals will need to demonstrate their own commercial value and that they think as a business, for the business.”

If you would like to discuss this report in more depth or you wish to discuss your job search or recruitment needs, please email

East China: Yuyan Cheng at Yuyan.Cheng@hays.cn or Ashley Ye at Ashley.Ye@hays.cn

North China: Jane Zhang at Jane.Zhang@hays.cn

South China: Kori Chen at Kori.Chen@hays.cn

中国大陆人力资源行业报告

中国大陆人力资源行业报告

在全球经济持续放缓的作用下,2019年对于东盟的许多国家和地区都是充满不确定性的一年,甚至连相对稳健而有序的中国大陆经济环境也受到了冲击。这很大一部分可以归咎于中美之间的贸易战:即便双方在12月就协议的第一阶段达成了共识,双方依然对数千亿美元的商品加征了关税阿里巴巴的创始人马云在接受《南华早报》的采访时表示:“2019年非常艰难,经营企业的人知道,其实每一年都很艰难……但以前只有部分企业家会觉得时局艰难,而在2019年,大部分企业家都对此感同身受。”

但即使困难重重,中国大陆的经济依然保持稳定发展,并通过关注国内增长而保持了上升势头。此外,相对稳固的政治环境也使企业能够为长期发展进行规划和投资。此外,由于中国市场的巨大规模和其在全球环境下的重要地位,本地企业与跨国公司都乐于为招聘顶尖人才和培养员工而投入重金。全球技术领导者的地位也带来了创新而活跃的人力资源技术环境

这些因素将使中国大陆的人力资源人才市场在2020年维持稳步增长。由于许多企业希望改进企业文化、增强雇主品牌建设,人力资源行业前景将保持乐观。与此同时,拥有专业人力资源技能、数据技能和领导并实施组织转型经验的人才会在市场中享有优势。 

市场概览:企业重整转变,招聘趋向谨慎

瀚纳仕上海办公室的高级经理Yuyan Cheng表示:“持续的经济放缓导致中国大陆的招聘市场没有往常那样火热。企业在提供职位以及求职者在寻找工作时,都变得更加谨慎,这其中也包括人力资源的相关工作。”尽管部分行业领域的招聘需求波动较大,但生命科学、高科技与消费者服务领域的招聘需求目前还保持在一个较高的水平上。与此同时,招聘需求也集中于以运营为主的中高层人才,而初级岗位的招聘则受到了人力资源技术的冲击。

跨国公司和有海外扩张计划的本土公司加大了对人力资源合伙人和人才招募专家的需求。另外,能协助组织建立人力资源架构的人才培养与组织发展相关候选人,也受到许多企业的欢迎。Yuyan表示:“中国大陆的许多企业正在经历重组与变革,因此了解组织发展和变革管理的人才受到了更大关注。”

这些岗位最青睐拥有跨国公司背景、坚实的本地业务知识和海外经验的人才,这导致在目前这类岗位相对短缺的市场中,人力资源人才出现了技能缺口。瀚纳仕北京办公室的高级经理Jane Zhang表示:“企业会为寻找合适的候选人投入更多时间和精力。因为虽然市场中可能有许多候选人,但拥有他们所需专业技能的候选人依然屈指可数。对于人力资源岗位来说,文化契合也尤为重要,因此岗位空缺有时会长达六个月。”

虽然招聘前景较为保守,但符合标准的候选人依然可以享有优渥的薪酬。瀚纳仕上海的资深咨询顾问Ashley Ye补充道,跨国公司和本地企业都愿意为专业和资深的人才提供高薪,上市公司甚至会提供股权。

热门技能:人力资源专业化与数据技能

中国大陆的各大企业纷纷提高了人力资源工作者的学历标准,学士学位几乎成为了一种必要条件 。拥有美国、英国或澳大利亚等海外学府学历的候选人则更受垂青。Yuyan表示,同样的标准也适用于HR的专业背景。“此前,许多人力资源工作者的第一份工作是普通职员或行政助理。但如今,企业更青睐从初级人力资源岗位一步步获得晋升的人才。市场已经逐渐专业化,人力资源合伙人岗位尤其如此。精于一个或多个人力资源职能(如人才招募、培训或薪酬福利)、同时了解其他业务基础知识的人才,将更受企业重视。”

大部分本地企业开始设立“中台”部门以协调前台与后台,这反映出了企业对于数据收集与分析能力的高度需要。Jane解释道:“前台的人力资源工作主要关注与企业的日常活动,后台则主要聚焦数据、系统与合规,或者经营相关的其他工作。这两个职能之间有时会存在巨大的差异,由此导致了中台的产生。这些岗位要求候选人更具战略思维,并有能力收集数据、进行分析并实施有益于企业的方法。”初级与中层的候选人如今需要具备数据技能,人员配置、人才招募和人力资源合伙人等岗位也不例外,这能帮助企业树立大局观,了解候选人趋势并预测未来的技能需求。

商业敏感度日趋关键

随着企业将人力资源从支持性部门转变为咨询型部门,另一个日益普遍的技能需求是出色的商业敏感度。Yuyan表示,高企候选人尤其应该“拥有运营经验、理解商业趋势、具备战略思维、能进行长期规划。”除此之外,Jane认为本地企业希望能够招聘“拥有管理企业转型或业务单位合并实际经验”的高级人才。上述这些要求都强调了企业对出色沟通技能的需求,以便员工为内外部的利益相关方提出建议。

人才需求迫切的高层岗位包括了组织发展和人才培养高级经理,以及高级人才招募经理和高级人力资源合伙人。拥有组织发展和人才培养经验的高级人才在市场上重金难求,因为大部分候选人来自咨询公司,且并未意识到转至组织侧岗位的需求与价值。Yuyan表示:“许多企业希望进行组织变革或人才培养,以此稳定并壮大他们的人才库。这些企业也希望招聘有改变业务能力的人才,但期望与现有的人才库并不匹配。”由于这些岗位需要人才深刻理解本地的劳动法律与环境,而海外高级人才并不能满足这些条件,因此导致人才短缺进一步加剧。

企业增强雇主品牌建设,加大员工培训

因为企业想要开始建设突显自身独特的职场文化,并建立值得员工为之自豪的声誉,中国大陆的雇主品牌建设岗位需求都出现了小幅提升。这带动了对人力资源员工的需求,尤其是拥有数字与社交媒体技能的初级员工。新一代员工非常重视自己与招聘经理和团队成员的化学反应,因此必须营造有益的职场文化。然而,招聘新员工总会带来风险。为了应对风险,Yuyan建议企业在内部培训上增加投入。候选人同时非常重视入职培训与职业发展机会,例如培训与学费报销。Yuyan表示,“许多企业甚至会资助具有潜力的员工参加为期1年的MBA课程。”

如果候选人希望在越发挑剔的市场中保有竞争力,就必须培养与企业需求相符的技能。新技术也将持续影响人力资源岗位,促使候选人磨练并精进技能,以持续为企业增添价值。由于人力资源部门正不断地转型并走上台前,候选人必须培养商业敏感度。Yuyan总结道:“在未来,人力资源部门将与销售和商务部门共同成为业务的前端。因此,人力资源人才必须展示出自己的业务价值,作为企业业务增长的一部分,与前线人员一同付出努力。”

如果您希望深入探讨该报告,或者希望讨论您的求职与招聘需求,请发送邮件至

华东:Yuyan Cheng Yuyan.Cheng@hays.cn或Ashley Ye Ashley.Ye@hays.cn

华北:Jane Zhang Jane.Zhang@hays.cn

华南:Kori Chen Kori.Chen@hays.cn