Hays blog promo blocks (left)

Follow Hays on social media

Follow Hays on social media

You can keep in touch with Hays on Viewpoint or through our LinkedIn, WeChat, Weibo and Youku accounts.

        

Office locator

Office locator

Get started with our recruitment expertise.

Find your nearest office

What employers need to know about Gen Z

What employers need to know about Gen Z

 

•    Generation Z is largely defined as those born between 1996 and 2012. Given that the people born towards the start of this generation are now in their twenties, many are beginning their entry into the workplace. 
•    But the COVID-19 pandemic has monumentally impacted the start of their careers. Many have missed out on their first job opportunity, or had their final years of education interrupted. 
•    In this new era of work, employers need to ensure they properly understand Gen Zers – including what motivates them – in order to create the perfect workplace to attract and retain them. 

So, how does Gen Z differ from the generations currently dominating our workforces – Millennials, Generation X and Baby Boomers? 

The four defining characteristics of Gen Z – and what they mean for organisations

1.    Gen Z is the most diverse generation yet, with the most inclusive views and expectations

According to an analysis of Census Bureau data by the Pew Research Center, 48 per cent of Gen Zers in the US are racial or ethnic minorities, compared to 39 per cent of Millennials, 30 per cent of Generation Xers, and 18 per cent of Boomers. Not only that, but Gen Zers also hold more inclusive views and expectations than previous generations. 

A survey by the BBC in the UK found evidence that Gen Zers were far more concerned about prejudice towards LGBTQ+ people, gender equality and racism than older generations. In addition, The New York Times has described Gen Zers as possessing “untraditional views on gender and identity.” They have a real open-mindedness and awareness when it comes to gender and sexuality – ultimately defined as identity. Many Gen Zers, for example, will include their pronoun preferences in their email signature and social media bios. Research in Brazil further evidences this generational characteristic; it was found that 60 per cent of Gen Zers were of the opinion that same-sex couples should be able to adopt children – 10 percentage points more than members of other generations. 

What does this mean for organisations? As reported by The Washington Post, Gen Zers are seeking proof of employers’ dedication to diversity and inclusion. Indeed, in the US, 77 per cent of Gen Z have indicated that a company’s level of diversity affects their decision to work there. So, an organisation’s commitment to equality, diversity and inclusion – and how clearly they communicate it – is evidently a key factor for Gen Z when considering job opportunities.

2.    COVID-19 has negatively impacted Gen Z’s education and entry into the workforce 

Although all generations have suffered from the economic consequences of the pandemic, evidence suggests that Gen Z have been hit with job loss and unemployment the worst. As early as March 2020, Pew Research Center reported that 50 per cent of Gen Zers in the US said they or someone in their household had lost work or pay due to the outbreak of the virus. The equivalent figures for Millennials, Generation X and Boomers were much lower; 40 per cent, 36 per cent and 25 per cent respectively. 

Gen Zers currently in education have also faced huge turmoil; exams have been cancelled, much of the traditional university experience has moved online, and proms and graduation plans have evaporated. Students have seen entire years – those often considered to be ‘the best years of your life’ – written off. In the words of Lauren Stiller Rikleen for Harvard Business Review, “collectively, they are experiencing the greatest national trauma since the Great Depression and World War II.” 

So, what does this mean for employers looking to attract and retain Gen Z candidates? As our CEO, Alistair Cox, previously reflected, “As business leaders, we cannot just idly sit back, avert our eyes and let this generation experience this monumental upheaval without doing all we can to support them. It is our duty to act.” You need to build a supportive working environment to enable them to thrive when they join your team:

1.    Provide suitable mental health and wellbeing support. The American Psychological Association (APA) reported that Gen Zers are “significantly more likely to seek professional help for mental health issues” than past generations. Even before the pandemic, Gen Zers had expressed higher levels of anxiety and depression than older generations. They will therefore expect and want employers to have support available for them, should they need it.

2.    Be aware of the likely increase in skills gaps among Gen Zers than previous generations, due to their interrupted education. As Rikleen has noted for Harvard Business Review: “Now that their structured learning has been upended, employers and employees may need to develop greater patience with Gen Z’s adjustment to the professional world and a greater focus on intergenerational mentoring and support.”
 
3. Gen Zers are true digital natives

Gen Z haven’t known a world without the Internet. They are therefore accustomed to having information at their fingertips via search engines and social media. They’re also used to instant, virtual connection, which they routinely use to form and build relationships. Your organisation therefore needs to provide the platforms and opportunities that enable them to quickly access information and establish virtual connections while at work – especially as remote and hybrid working arrangements become our new ‘normal’. 

However, if your new Gen Z starters are onboarding remotely, it’s important to appreciate that while they will almost certainly be confident with the technology, they may need additional onboarding support. As Alistair Cox, has explained previously: “Yes, they are a digitally savvy generation, but research shows that 45 per cent of Gen Z and employed Millennials said they had never worked remotely before the pandemic, so give them the support they need to get up and running quickly.” 

And don’t forget about the practicalities of your new Gen Z employees onboarding and working remotely; do they have the space to work at home productively? Do they have access to Wi-Fi? This is an essential consideration if you are wanting to build an inclusive workplace. After all, those from disadvantaged backgrounds may not have these luxuries. 

4. Gen Zers are passionate about solving the world’s wrongs

In the words of McKinsey & Company, Gen Z “mobilise themselves for a variety of causes. They believe profoundly in the efficacy of dialogue to solve conflicts and improve the world.” Just one example of Gen Z’s notable commitment to transforming the world is the decision – as reported by the World Economic Forum (WEF) – of more than 30,000 French students from over 300 universities to sign a pledge to only work for environmentally conscious companies. 

What does this mean for organisations? It underlines the importance of employers having a strong sense of meaning in what they do, enabling employees to feel as though they are benefiting society. As the WEF has put it, purpose is “the most powerful tool companies have at their disposal to meet the intrinsic needs of new talent.” But simply creating a new purpose doesn’t cut it; they added that, “For this new generation, it is not enough for their employers to simply have a compelling purpose. They want to see purpose lived out authentically through bold actions.” 

Our CEO has also previously discussed the power organisations hold in providing employees with personal meaning, “By joining a purpose-driven organisation – one that is aligned to our own value system – we are able to find solace in the fact that, collectively, as part of a team, we are better able to have the positive impact on the world that we feel we need to make.”
 
So, we now know the four key characteristics of Gen Z – and why it’s so important for employers to understand them. Essentially, they have a very different attitude than older generations towards diversity and inclusion, the role of digital in the workplace, and organisations taking accountability for improving the world. But what do employers need to change in order to attract and retain Gen Z employees in the new era of work? Read my next blog to find out.

瀚纳仕博客模块(左栏)

关注瀚纳仕社交媒体

关注瀚纳仕社交媒体

您可以通过Viewpoint或者我们的官方领英、微信、微博和优酷帐号与Hays保持联系。

        

联系我们

联系我们

与我们的招聘专家取得联系。

寻找您附近的瀚纳仕办公室

关于Z世代,雇主需要知道什么

关于Z世代,雇主需要知道什么

 

•    Z世代主要指1996年至2012年之间出生的人。这一代人现在20多岁了,许多人刚刚踏入职场。
•    新冠疫情对他们职业生涯的第一步产生了巨大影响。许多人错过了他们的第一个工作机会,或者中断了最后几年的学业。 
•    在这个新的职场时代,雇主需要正确理解Z世代,包括激励他们的因素,以期缔造适合的工作环境来吸引和留住他们。 

Z世代与目前劳动力中占比最多的几代人——千禧世代、X世代和婴儿潮世代有何不同? 

Z世代的四个决定性特征及其对组织的意义

1.    Z世代是迄今为止最多元化的一代,具有最具包容性的观点和期望

皮尤研究中心对美国人口普查局数据进行的分析显示,在美国,48%的Z世代是少数种族或族裔,而千禧世代的这一比例为39%,X世代为30%,婴儿潮世代为18%。不仅如此,Z世代持有的观点和期望也比前几代人更包容。 

英国BBC的一项调查发现,有证据表明Z世代比上一代人更关心对LGBTQ群体的偏见、性别平等和种族主义。此外,《纽约时报》认为Z世代“对性别和身份持有非传统观点”。当涉及到性别和性取向(身份)时,他们具有真正的开放思想和意识。例如,许多Z世代的人会在他们的电子邮件签名和社交媒体简介中体现他们性取向。巴西的研究进一步证明了这一代人的特点:研究发现,60%的Z世代认为同性伴侣应该能够收养孩子,这一比例高出其他世代10个百分点。 

这对组织而言意味着什么呢?《华盛顿邮报》报道,Z世代想要看到雇主在多元化和包容性方面所作的努力。在美国,77%的Z世代表示,在决定是否要在一家公司工作时,多元化程度是一个重要的考虑因素。因此,一个组织对平等、多元化和包容性的承诺,以及能否清楚地传达这一承诺,显然是Z世代在权衡工作机会时的一个重点。

2.    疫情对Z世代的教育和就业产生了不利影响

尽管所有世代的人都承受着新冠疫情带来的经济后果,但有证据表明,Z世代受到的失业打击最为严重。早在2020年3月,皮尤研究中心就报告说,在美国,50%的Z世代表示,他们或他们的家人由于疫情爆发而失业或被降薪。千禧世代、X世代和婴儿潮世代的相应比例要低得多,分别为40%、36%和25%。

目前正在上学的Z世代也遭遇了巨大动荡:考试取消,网上授课,就连舞会和毕业计划都纷纷取消。整整好几年——通常被认为是“生命中最美好的几年”由于疫情而变得黯然失色。用《哈佛商业评论》中Lauren Stiller Rikleen的话说:“他们正在经历自大萧条和第二次世界大战以来最大的民族创伤。”

那么,这对希望吸引和留住Z世代人才的雇主意味着什么呢?正如我们的首席执行官Alistair Cox此前所说,“作为企业领导,我们不能袖手旁观,坐视这一代人经历巨大动荡,而不尽我们所能来支持他们。我们有责任采取行动。”你需要构建一个有益的工作环境,帮助他们在你的团队中茁壮成长。

1.    提供适宜的心理健康和福利支持:美国心理学会(APA)报告说,与前几代人相比,Z世代“明显更有可能为心理健康问题寻求专业帮助”。在疫情爆发之前,Z世代就已经表现出比前几代人更高的焦虑和抑郁水平。因此,他们会期望和要求雇主在他们需要时为他们提供支持。

2.    要注意,Z世代由于教育中断,比前几代人而言,他们的技能差距可能更大。Rikleen在《哈佛商业评论》中指出:“他们的结构化学习受到干扰,老板和同事可能需要对Z世代更有耐心,并更加注重代际间的指导和支持,以帮助他们适应职场。”
 
3.    Z世代的人是真正的数字原生代

Z世代出生时,互联网就已经存在了。因此,他们习惯通过搜索引擎和社交媒体来搜索、分享和使用信息。他们也习惯即时的虚拟联系,以此来建立和培养关系。因此,组织需要提供平台和机会,使他们尤其是当远程和混合办公成为我们的新常态时,能够在工作中快速获取信息并建立虚拟联系。

不过,如果你的Z世代新员工是以远程方式入职的,你要认识到,虽然他们大多确信对技术有信心,他们仍然需要额外的入职支持。正如Alistair Cox此前所说:“的确,他们是精通数字技术的一代,但研究表明,45%的Z世代和已经进入职场的千禧世代表示,他们在疫情之前从未尝试过远程办公,所以组织要给他们所需的支持,让他们迅速上手。”

还要考虑Z世代新员工远程入职和办公的可行性;他们家里是否有空间来有效地工作?有Wi-Fi吗?如果你想建立一个包容的工作场所,你必须考虑这些问题。毕竟,那些来自弱势背景的人可能没有这些优越的条件。 

4. Z世代热衷于纠正这个世界的错误

用麦肯锡公司的话说,Z世代“为各种事业动员自己。他们坚信,对话有助于解决冲突,让这个世界变得更好”。世界经济论坛(WEF)报道,来自300多所大学的3万多名法国学生决定签署一份承诺书,承诺只为有环保意识的公司工作,这只是Z世代致力于改造世界的一个范例。 

对组织而言这意味着,雇主必须有强烈的使命感,让员工感到他们在造福社会。正如世界经济论坛所述,使命感是“企业满足新人才内在需求的最有力的工具”。但简单地创造一个新的使命是不够的;他们补充说:“对于新的一代,雇主仅仅去喊口号是不够的。他们希望看到组织通过大胆的行动切实履行其使命。”

我们的首席执行官之前也讨论过组织在赋予员工个人使命感方面的力量,“加入一个目标驱动的组织,一个与我们自己的价值体系相一致的组织,有助于我们融入团队,更好地对世界产生积极影响。”

现在,我们明晰了Z世代的四个关键特征以及为什么雇主需要了解这些特征的重要性。从本质上讲,Z世代对多元化与包容性、数字在工作场所中的作用以及组织改善世界的责任的态度与前几代人截然不同。但若要在新的职场时代吸引和留住Z世代员工,雇主需要做些什么?想知道这些答案,敬请关注我的下一篇博客。