Hays blog promo blocks

Leadership viewpoints

Check out our latest suggestion on leadership, hiring and other advise for employers.

Read more

Career progression

We aim to provide you advise and guidance when seeking job or asking for promotion.

Read more

Hiring insights

We help employers on talent attracting and retaining with our expertise.

Read more

Office locator

Office locator

Get started with our recruitment expertise.

Find your nearest office

WHAT TO DO IF COVID-19 HAS LEFT YOU FEELING ‘STUCK’ IN YOUR JOB

WHAT TO DO IF COVID-19 HAS LEFT YOU FEELING ‘STUCK’ IN YOUR JOB

 

  • Perhaps you had been working hard towards a promotion before the crisis hit, only for those plans to be put on hold, leaving you feeling deflated. Or maybe, you’re concerned your learning and development is stalling as you deal with the ‘here and now’ implications the pandemic has for your role and the wider organisation. Or you simply feel stuck in a job that you don’t like, resigned to the fact that now isn’t a good time to search for a new one.
 
  • Feeling stuck in your job can be extremely frustrating, particularly in a difficult labour market like the one we’re experiencing now. The good news, however, is that there are some proactive things you can do to help you feel as if you’re moving your career in the right direction, instead of standing still.

Nine actions to take if you feel stuck in your job

1. Find your self-confidence again: Working remotely, or at least in a hybrid way, can leave you devoid of all those positive reinforcements and small ‘confidence boosts’ that you would ordinarily experience throughout the day – often without realising – when working in a buzzing office. This may have left you doubting your skills, denting away at your ‘work mojo’ in the process. Perhaps imposter syndrome has started to creep in, knocking your self-confidence even further.

If this sounds familiar, stop and take a moment to reflect; something you probably haven’t had a chance to do much of if you’ve been working non-stop throughout the pandemic so far. Take some time to reflect on all that you have accomplished in your career so far and realise that your success is down to you – no one else. Write down your accomplishments and what you’re proud of, and refer back to them when you need a confidence boost. It might simply be that your growing lack of self-confidence and constant negative self-talk is what’s really holding you back from giving your career forward momentum and adding to your feelings of being ‘stuck’.

If you show the classic signs of ‘imposter syndrome’ – such as crediting your career successes to mere luck or ‘being in the right place at the right time’, instead of your own capabilities, skills and hard work – be sure to remind yourself that you aren’t alone in suffering from this, especially right now. Learn how to accept compliments from others on your work performance and achievements, and take the time to celebrate your successes.

2. Create your own career strategy: While you might share this with your boss, often the greatest value of putting together your own personal career strategy for the next one, two or even five or 10 years, might be in how strongly it motivates you to drive your career forward and pull yourself out of the work rut you’re experiencing.

Detailing what you want to learn and where you want to get to can give you a greater sense of ownership of your own development – ultimately putting the power in your hands – especially at a time when the world is so full of uncertainty, with many feeling a lack of control.

After all, this is your development, and you’re the only one that can really drive it. If you’re feeling stuck because you’re not clear in your mind as to where you want to go or which routes are an option for you right now, creating this personal development strategy will help you crystallise your thoughts. Then, once you do have a plan, stick to it and break it down into manageable steps.

Brendan O’Donovan, Group Data Marketing Director at Hays, has outlined the key features that your career strategy ought to have, including:

  • Your ultimate goal: This can obviously vary from person to person, but can include: reaching a certain level of seniority, to work for a specific company, to earn a certain salary, to have a specific impact on society at large, to attain public recognition or to achieve a healthy work-life balance.
  • Clear insight into the context: Ask yourself questions on your internal and external context including:
    • Internal:
      • What skills and capabilities do I have?
      • What are my strengths and weaknesses?
      • What types of work have most energised me over the last year?
      • How have I grown and developed professionally over the last five years?
      • What professional network do I have (mentors, colleagues, contacts)?
    •  External:
      • What are the typical intermediate career steps to get to my goal?
      • Who are the people whose career I’d want to model my own on?
      • What are my strengths and weaknesses compared to people I compete with for promotion or a new job?
      • How are technology trends changing the types of opportunity available to me?
      • How are my potential employers performing in their market?
  • Your route to success:
    • An action or attribute which everyone who has succeeded at your goal has in common (and which sets them apart from everyone who has tried and failed at the goal).
    • Something that nobody you’re in competition with is doing, but which would be highly valued by an employer of choice.
    • A new area of employment which is emerging or growing, which you could get established in before anyone else.
  • Plans and actions:
    • What skills do you need to develop? Can you develop them at work, or do you need to learn outside?
    • What is your ideal next career step? Is there scope for promotion at your current employer right now, or do you need to look elsewhere? Is it realistic to achieve it over the next year? If not, how can you begin to take on those responsibilities early and volunteer yourself for stretch assignments?
    • Imagine yourself at the end of next year, talking an interviewer through an example of something you’ve done over the past year that makes you perfect for your ideal next job. What is that project or performance, how can you ensure you’re involved and able to make that example a reality? What are the barriers you’ll need to overcome?

3. Proactively upskill: There are many ways you can proactively add to your skills in your own time, which in turn, will help drive your professional development and keep your career progression on track. Committing to adopting a growth mindset and your own lifelong learning, including staying up-to-date with trends and developments in your industry, will help you feel that you’re moving forward productively in your career, even if COVID-19 unfortunately means you may not be promoted as quickly as you’d like.

As much of the world goes through continued lockdown and reopening cycles to help limit the spread of the virus over the coming months, you have a lot of options for upskilling even if you aren’t in the office all of the time at the moment. Those could include – as Hays Australia Director Jane McNeill has suggested – learning a new language or two, training or mentoring someone else, keeping an eye out for relevant webinars and podcasts, and accessing any training or development resources your employer offers. The key thing is to keep your upskilling going even in these strange times, instead of leaving it on pause, which will only add to your feelings of being stuck in your job.

If you’re interested in upskilling, I’d recommend that you take a look at My Learning, our free online training portal.

4. Regain your passion for your profession: The challenges, disruption and stress brought by the pandemic may have left you feeling as if you’ve lost your ‘work mojo’, the fire in your belly, the passion you have for what you do, leaving you feeling deflated and stuck. Now is the time to regain that passion. Take some time to reflect and think about what it is that you love about your job. But not only that, also ask yourself what your own personal purpose is.

One great way to summon up some of the old passion is to remind yourself why you took on your current job in the first place. Also, as I said earlier, give yourself a pat on the back for all of the progress you have made in your role so far. Make sure you break out of your usual daily routine from time to time – perhaps shaking things up by volunteering for different tasks, which I’ll touch on in a bit more detail later in this blog. Learning a new skill or reading about new trends in your industry will also help you regain the passion for what you do.

And if all else seems to fail, remind yourself that you’re far from the only person who’ll be struggling to regain their ‘work mojo’ right now. These are bizarre and difficult times, and a lot of people are more despondent about the situation than they’re necessarily letting on. But as Dr Maggi Evans has previously explained, simply being honest and kind to yourself, as well as taking small steps to adjust your energy flow, can greatly help you to feel better about your life and career.  

5. Turn to others for inspiration: Explore what experts or those you look up to are doing in their careers and how they got there. Expand your network to include those you aspire to be like and learn all you can from them. This will give you the motivation, inspiration and knowledge to really drive your career forward.

A great way to do this is to find a career mentor. By ‘career mentor’, I’m referring to a confidential advisor who can help you to overcome the challenges that may currently be preventing you from achieving your longed-for professional goals – here are four key steps that will help you to find and nurture your own mentor-mentee relationship.

6. Optimise your personal brand: Opportunities for a promotion may or may not be available to you at the moment. Either way, it’s important that as part of your personal ownership of your career development, you take steps to optimise your personal brand and perfect your online presence. This will position you as an expert in your field, and the very act of doing so will give you back an element of control, making you feel less ‘stuck’.

The development of a strong personal brand online is a gradual and multi-layered process, encompassing first steps such as Googling your name to see what the rest of the world currently sees, and checking that your various social media profiles are consistent in how they represent you.

Catherine Gutsell, Global Head of Content and Social Media at Hays, has previously gone into greater detail about how you can clean up your act on such key social platforms as LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook and YouTube.

7. Have an open and transparent conversation with your boss: If you feel stuck in a job with no progression in sight, and you’re comfortable with the idea of having an open and honest conversation about it with your boss, then do so. Your manager’s role is to help you succeed, and they can only do that if they understand what your career goals are and what barriers or blockers you’re experiencing.

Where possible, it’s in the best interests of not only you, but also your employer, to have these open and transparent conversations about the future. It helps to avoid both of you sailing blindly into the future, perhaps with very different expectations of what that future is likely to look like.

To help ensure you can plot the right path forward for your career as a result of these conversations, be sure to ask yourself certain questions in advance. Those might include what you do and don’t enjoy about your current role, how you see your role progressing in the coming years, and what kind of work you would love to do in an ideal world. This information will help your manager understand your situation and agree on steps forward.

8. Stop ruminating on how stuck you feel: Your job and your professional development absolutely should be part of your focus. Of course, your career deserves careful consideration and should occupy your thoughts, to an extent. If, however, your frustrations are consuming your mind, then it’s time to find some more balance and focus on other aspects of your life. This will help you gain some perspective and ultimately take the most effective approach to alleviating those feelings of being stuck in your job with no way forward. So, pick back up on a once-loved hobby, spend time doing the things you enjoy and make sure you’re getting enough rest – instead of working unhealthily long hours in a desperate need to prove yourself or pull yourself out of your rut.

9. Look for a new job: If you’ve done all of the above and you feel your career progression goals won’t be met at your current organisation, or are continuing to feel increasingly ‘stuck’, it might be time to explore another role. Before you start your job search, talk to a recruiter and take time to reflect on exactly what you want from the next stage of your career. Also be sure to update and optimise your CV and LinkedIn profile, and tailor each application where possible.

Feeling like you’re stuck in your career is frustrating to say the least, even in non-pandemic conditions. In current times, when it can often feel as if so much of ‘normal’ life is effectively in suspension, it can be all the more agonising. By following the above tips, however, you can regain some control and take steps to ensure you’re still moving forward in your professional life, pulling you out of your career rut and back onto the right track.

瀚纳仕博客模块

领导力洞察

阅读我们关于领导力、招聘和其他方面对雇主的建议。

职场建议

我们能为您提供求职或晋升的建议和指导。

招聘见解

我们用专业知识帮助雇主吸引和留任人才。

阅读更多

联系我们

联系我们

与我们的招聘专家取得联系。

寻找您附近的瀚纳仕办公室

当疫情使你感觉职业生涯停滞不前时该怎样做

当疫情使你感觉职业生涯停滞不前时该怎样做

 

  • 也许你在疫情发生前一直在为晋升而努力,却因为计划被搁置而倍感沮丧。或者,你担心疫情会对你现在及将来的学习和发展造成停滞。甚至你会觉得自己被困在了不喜欢的工作中,却在辞职后发现也许现在并不是寻找新工作的好时机。
 
  • 工作中的不适感可能非常令人沮丧,不过好消息是,你可以采取一些积极的行动,帮助你朝着正确的职业生涯方向前进,而不是停滞不前。
工作遇到瓶颈时可采取的九个行动
 
1.    找回你的自信:采用远程或至少是混合的方式进行工作,会让你失去所有的积极想法和平日里的自信——通常是无意识的——这些是当你在嘈杂的办公室里工作时一点一点积累起来的。这可能会让你怀疑自己的技能,并在此过程中削弱你的“工作魅力”。也许“冒名顶替综合症”已经潜入你的身体里,且它正进一步打击你的自信。
 
如果这听起来很熟悉,不如停下来花点时间进行反思;如果你在疫情期间一直不停地工作,那么你可能没有很多机会反思自己。花一些时间回顾一下迄今为止那在职业生涯中所取得的成就,并意识到你的成功是你自己的功劳——而不是别人的。写下你的成就和令你自豪的事情,当你需要加强自信的时候再回头看看,也许缺乏自信和不断的自我否定才是阻碍你事业发展的真正原因。
 
如果你表现出“冒名顶替综合症”的典型征兆——例如将事业成功归功于运气或“天时地利人和”,而不是自己的能力、技能或努力——请一定要提醒自己,你不是唯一一个这样想的。要学会如何接受别人对你工作表现和成就的赞美,花点时间庆祝自己的成功吧
 
2. 制定自己的职业生涯规划:虽然你可能会与你的老板谈论这个问题,通常制定自己在下一个两年、五年甚至十年的时间的个人职业规划,并最大价值地激发你的动力,使自己摆脱正经历着的工作瓶颈。
 
详细说明你想学习的知识以及你想往哪个方向进一步发展,可以使你对自己的发展有更大的掌控感——并最终将掌控权握在自己手中——很多人尤其会在外部环境充满不确定性时觉得无法控制一切。
 
毕竟,这是你的发展之路,而且你是唯一能真正驱动自己的人。如果你对于不清楚自己要如何发展,或为该选择哪条路而感到困惑,那么制定个人发展规划将有助于你明确自己的想法。然后,一旦有了计划,请坚持执行并将其分解为可控的步骤。
 
瀚纳仕数据营销总监Brendan O’Donovan概述了职业规划应具备的主要特征,其中包括:
 
你的终极目标:这显然因人而异,但总体包括:具备一定的资历、为特定的公司工作、赚取一定的薪水、对整个社会产生特定的影响、获得公众认可或达到一个健康的工作与生活的平衡。
 
•    清楚地洞察环境:问自己一些关于你的内部和外部因素的问题,包括:
内部的
•    我拥有哪些技能和能力?
•    我的长处和弱点是什么?
•    过去一年中做什么工作让我感觉最有活力?
•    在过去的5年里,我是如何在专业上成长和发展的?
•    我有什么样的职业关系网(导师、同事、联系人)?
外部的:
•    为了达到我的职业生涯目标需要哪些具体步骤?
•    我想以哪些人或他们的职业生涯为榜样?
•    与那些同我竞争晋升或新工作的人相比,我的优势和劣势是什么?
•    科技发展趋势会如何改变我所能获得的机会?
•    我的潜在雇主在各自的市场上表现如何?
 
你的成功诀窍:
•    拥有可以使你成功完成目标的特质(这也是为什么有些人可以成功而其他人却无法达到目标的原因)
•    你的雇主高度重视而你的竞争者却没有做的事
•    找到正在萌芽或增长的新兴领域,并先于他人开始行动 
 
计划与行动:
•    你需要发展哪些技能?你是否可以在工作中学习还是需要到外面学到它们?
•    你理想的下一个职业步骤是什么?你在目前的企业是否有晋升的空间,还是你需要另谋出路?在明年实现这一目标是否现实?如果不是,你如何才能尽早并主动承担起这些职责?
•    想象你到明年年底时,需要向面试官讲述过去一年中你做过的让你成为下一份理想工作的合适人选的事情。那会是哪些项目,你的绩效如何?你如何确保自己参与其中并使使之成为现实?你需要克服的障碍是什么?
 
3.主动提升技能:有很多方法可以让你在空余时间里主动提升自己的技能,反过来,这也有助于推动你的职业发展并使你的前进道路保持在正轨上。保持成长的心态,终身学习,紧跟行业最新趋势和发展动态。即使疫情的爆发意味着你可能无法如愿以偿地得到晋升,这也有助于你体会到自己在职业生涯中取得了卓有成效的进步。
 
在未来的几个月里,世界上很多地方都要持续经历封锁、解封的循环以限制病毒的传播,因此即使你目前不在办公室里,你也有很多可以提高技能的选择。如瀚纳仕澳大利亚主管Jane McNeill所建议的:学习一到两门新语言,培训或指导其他人,密切关注相关的网络研讨会和播客,以及获取企业提供的任何培训或发展资源等。重点是是,即使在这些时刻你也要保持提升技能,而不是让它停止——这只会徒增你被困在工作中的感觉。
 
如果你有兴趣提高技能,我建议你看看我们免费的在线培训门户网站MyLearning
 
4. 重拾职业热情:疫情带来的挑战、干扰和压力可能会让你觉得自己失去了“工作魂”,失去了心中的激情,失去了对工作的热情,让你感到灰心丧气、停滞不前。现在是重拾激情的时候了,花点时间来反思和思考你喜欢这份工作的哪些部分,不仅如此,还需要问自己个人目标是什么。
 
唤起原来的激情的一个好方法就是回忆自己当初为什么要选择现在的工作。还有,就像我之前说的,承认并嘉奖自己到目前为止在工作中取得的进步。确保自己间歇性地摆脱日常固定流程——也许你可以通过自发完成不同的任务来改变自己的现状,我将在这篇博客后面对此详细介绍。学习一项新技能或了解你所在行业的新趋势也会帮助你重拾工作热情。
 
如果以上这些方法看似都失败了,提醒自己,你绝不是唯一一个只有这样体会的人。这是一段艰难时期,很多人会对现状感到沮丧却不会表现出来。正如Maggi Evans博士之前解释的那样,只要对自己坦诚,善待自己,并采取一些小步骤调整你的能量场,就能极大地帮助你改善自己对生活和职业的感觉。
 
5. 向他人寻求灵感: 看看专家们或你敬仰的人,他们正在为职业生涯做怎样的努力,以及他们是达成目标的。扩大你的交际圈,把你想要成为的对象也加入进去,并向他们学习。这会真正给予你推动发展职业的动力、灵感和知识。
 
有一个很好的方法就是找一个职业导师。所谓职业导师,我指的是一个私下交心的顾问角色——他可以帮助你克服目前可能无法实现的、渴望达成的职业目标的挑战。这里有四个关键步骤,可以帮助你找到并培养自己的师生关系
 
6. 优化你的个人形象: 现在你可能有/没有升职的机会。无论如何,作为你职业发展的重要一环,,你需要主动采取行动来优化你的个人品牌,完善你的形象。这将使你被定位为你所在领域的专家,而这样做也将给你一种掌控感,亦会让你感到更自在。
 
在网上建立一个强大的个人品牌形象是一个循序渐进、多层次的过程,包括第一步,比如在谷歌上搜索你的名字,看看别人现在怎么看你,检查你的各种社交媒体资料是否一致地展现了你自己。
 
瀚纳仕内容和社交媒体全球负责人Catherine Gutsell之前已经详细介绍了如何在领英,推特,脸书和油管等关键社交平台上开展你的行动。
 
7. 和你的老板进行开诚布公的对话: 如果你觉得自己陷入了一份看不到任何进展的工作中,并且你愿意和你的老板进行开诚布公的对话,那么就这样做吧。经理的作用是帮助你成功,他们只有在了解你的职业目标和你正在经历的障碍或阻碍时才能这么做。
 
在可能的情况下,就未来进行公开透明的对话,不仅符合你的最大利益,也符合企业的最大利益。这有助于避免你们可能在对未来的前景有不同期望的情况下,盲目地驶向各自的未来。
 
为确保你为自己的职业生涯规划正确的前进道路,请务必事先问自己一些问题。这些问题可能包括你目前职责范围中喜欢与不喜欢的事情,你如何看待在未来几年里你所担任的职务的发展,以及在理想情况下你希望从事什么样的工作。这些信息将帮助你的经理了解你的情况,并商定接下来的发展计划。
 
8. 不要再纠结于你陷入困境的感觉: 你的工作和职业发展绝对应该是你关注的一部分。 对职业我们应当深思熟虑,谨慎选择。然而,当你的挫败感正在消耗你的精力,那么是时候找到其中的平衡点并关注生活的其他方面了。这将帮助您获得一些额外的见识,并最终采取最有效的方法来缓解那种被困在工作中无路可走的感觉。因此,请尝试重拾你的的爱好,花时间做自己喜欢的事情,并确保得到充足的休息——而不是因为迫切需要证明自己或使自己摆脱困境而长时间不健康地工作。
 
9. 找一份新工作: 如果你已经完成了以上所有的工作,并且你觉得在目前的公司无法实现自己的职业发展目标,或者感觉越来越停滞不前,那么也许是时候考虑换一份工作了。在你开始找工作之前,可以与猎头好好聊一下,花时间仔细考虑下一个职业阶段的诉求。另外,也请确保更新和优化你的个人职业简历领英简历,并在可能的情况下有针对性地优化每个工作申请。
 
在疫情下感觉自己被困在职业生涯中固然令人沮丧,有些人连正常生活也受到了影响,这无疑让人更加痛苦。但是,遵循以上的建议,你可以重获一些掌控权,确保在职业生涯中仍然继续前进,将你的职业生涯拉回到正轨上。