The Inside Story of Life Sciences in Mainland China

The Inside Story of Life Sciences in China

Over the past decade, Mainland China’s life sciences industry has faced a major transformation in efforts to bring the country to pharmaceutical and biotech superpower status. With an average annual sales revenue growth of 21.4 per cent, the Chinese pharmaceutical market, according to Deloitte, appears to be fast reaching its USD 220 billion-dollar goal by 2020, parring with the US as the largest contributor to the global pharmaceutical market.

PHARMACEUTICAL SECTOR THE MAIN FOCUS IN MAINLAND CHINA, BUT THE CURRENT TALENT POOL IS INSUFFICIENT TO SUPPORT RAPID DEVELOPMENT

When revealing Beijing’s ‘Made in China 2025’ strategic plan, President Xi Jinping highlighted the Chinese pharmaceutical sector as a key driver of growth. With the rapidly growing middle-class and aging population, opportunities abound for this vision to come to fruition. By 2020, China's healthcare expenditure on the percentage of GDP is six to seven per cent, approximately USD 1 trillion. In addition, McKinsey reports “114 million diabetic patients and more than 700,000 new cases of lung cancer diagnosed each year” while the China Food and Drug Admiration’s (CFDA) continuous reforms are speeding up the development of pharmaceutic innovation in Mainland China.

Be that as it may, the expeditious maturation of the life sciences industry in Mainland China is fast outpacing the talent supply needed for business expansion. With recent investment boosts in Mainland China’s pharmaceutical research and development programmes, the clinical research organisation (CRO) sector will see a corresponding growth, resulting in heightened demand for talent in this field.

In addition, the ongoing development in R&D for cancer treatments and oncology drugs are taking centre stage in the life sciences arena, thereby attracting a significant amount of capital investments and overseas scientist talents to be part of the thriving scene. Notwithstanding, there is a local market talent shortage due to skills mismatch, resulting in greater acceptance from hiring managers of industry cross-over. Employers have therefore been more receptive of candidates who are not experienced in oncology therapy.

MAINLAND CHINA’S MEDICAL DEVICES SECTOR IS BOOMING WITH GREAT GOVERNMENT SUPPORT, LEADING TO INCREASED PRODUCT DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT

Another driving force of Mainland China’s life sciences industry is the technologically advancing medical devices sector, which has been steadily increasing in total sales revenue. With higher emphasis from the government to invest in the production of state-of-the-art medical devices, and the shift in focus from low-tech goods to medium-and-high-tech devices, the sector has achieved great leaps in annual revenue with an up to 20 per cent growth year-on-year.

Such growth is set to develop even further with Mainland China’s swelling health care market and greater governmental initiatives to improve the technologies behind media device product development and design.

As the volume of medical devices increases exponentially at the back of product launches from local enterprises to market entry strategies of foreign companies, product marketing or project managers play an increasingly important role in ensuring growing the business-to-business (b2b) market share.

This is especially so for small to medium enterprises (SMEs) which aim to develop their brand equity and awareness. However, as businesses across industries vie for talents in project management and foreign language fluency, on top of the lack of supply of sector-specific product marketing or project managers, hiring managers have been more willing to hire such professionals who do not possess product-related knowledge.

EMPLOYERS ADDRESS TALENT SHORTAGE BY TURNING TO MAINLAND CHINESE GRADUATES AND OVERSEAS RETURNEES

To plug some of this talent shortage, companies are increasingly turning to the 10,000 Chinese who return from studying or working in Life Sciences in the U.S. each year. Demand for these gradates, particularly those with bilingual capabilities, is at such a level that they are aggressively recruited via the private sector or government initiatives such as the “Thousand Talents” Program.

But even with this influx of returnees and the 150,000 life science graduates, Mainland China produces annually, the rapid market expansion is expected to continue at such a pace for the next three to five years that demand will far outstrip talent supply. This is likely to exacerbate the already talent short market in R&D, particularly in the nascent field of precision medicine. One result of this is that salaries are expected to rise well above the market average, with candidates in critically short areas commanding 20 per cent salary hikes, improved working conditions and career progression possibilities.

As Mainland China’s influence grows in the Life Sciences industry both at home and abroad - with its researchers publishing research papers in increasing numbers, and the government continuing to back the industry through funding, regulations and the development of the national healthcare system to meet the struggles posed by diseases associated with its newly affluent population - companies will continue to seek out talent.

Whether that talent is developed in-house, fostered in top labs in the U.S., or comes from a foreign company enticed by Mainland China’s vast market, it is imperative that they are found. Companies are looking for candidates who they believe can make things happen, something that is unique in the field, because it is in this way that Mainland China can perhaps succeed in its desire to overhaul the U.S. as the Life Sciences market leader.

If you would like to discuss this report in more depth or you wish to discuss your job search or recruitment needs, please email Jack Gong, Hays Senior Recruiting Manager for Life Sciences at Jack.Gong@hays.cn

中国大陆生命科学行业报告

中国大陆生命科学行业报告

 在过去十年里,中国大陆的生命科学产业经历了一场重大转型,并力图成为制药和生物科技方面的巨头。据德勤发布的数据,中国制药市场年销售额增长率达到了21.4%,即将在2020年达成年销售额2200亿美元的目标,与美国并列全球制药市场的头把交椅。

制药领域是中国大陆的主要关注点之一,但当前的人才储备却不足以支撑其迅速发展

在公布“中国制造2025”战略规划时,习近平主席将中国的制药产业视为一项重要的经济增长点。随着中产阶级崛起和人口老龄化,该领域内的职业机会必将腾飞。到2020年,中国的医疗支出占GDP比重将达到6-7%,约1万亿美元。此外,根据麦肯锡的报告,“每年需要治疗1.14亿糖尿病患者和70多万个新增肺癌患者”,而中国食品药品监督管理总局(CFDA)持续性的改革正在加速中国大陆制药业的创新。

尽管如此,迅速发展的中国大陆生命科学产业正在面临事业扩张时的人才供应不足。随着近期中国大陆制药研发项目投资的大幅增长,临床研究组织(CRO)领域将出现对应的增长,从而导致人才需求加大。

此外,肿瘤药品和癌症治疗手段的研发正成为生命科学产业中的中心,并因此吸引了大量投资和海外科学人才参与这一发展兴盛的事业。不过,技能不匹配问题导致本土市场的人才依旧短缺,促使招聘经理接纳更多跨领域人才。雇主也因此越来越愿意接受在肿瘤治疗方面并无经验的求职者。

在政府的大力支持下,中国大陆的医疗设备行业已成为热门,并促进了产品的设计和开发

中国大陆生命科学产业的另一项推动力就是技术不断进步的医疗设备领域,其总销售额逐年稳定攀升。随着政府愈发重视并投资先进医疗设备的生产,从低科技含量到中高科技含量的转变让该领域的年销售额实现了飞跃,年增长率达到20%

随着中国大陆的医疗市场不断发展,以及政府实施更大规模的项目来提高医疗设备研发和设计方面的科技水平,这种增长还将进一步加速。

在本地企业推出产品,外国企业进入市场的背景下,医疗设备市场呈现出了迅速发展,产品营销经理或项目经理也因此在确保B2B市场份额增长的过程中扮演着愈发重要的角色。

对于中小企业来说尤其如此,这些企业旨在提升品牌价值和认知度。不过,在特定领域的产品营销经理或项目经理人才短缺的情况下,各行业对于项目管理和外语人才的争抢让招聘经理愈发地愿意接受并无产品业务相关知识的人才。

雇主开始通过中国大陆的毕业生和海归人士来解决人才短缺问题

为了一定程度上缓解人才短缺,各公司开始更多地将目光投向每年在美国从事生命科学研习和工作的10,000名中国人。对这些毕业生,尤其是双语人才毕业生的需求甚至已经促使企业积极地通过私人手段或政府项目来招聘他们,例如“千人计划”。

但是,即使这些海归人才可以回流,加上中国大陆每年培养的15万生命科学类毕业生,快速的市场发展在未来3到5年内仍将导致人才供给跟不上脚步。这可能会加剧目前已经彰显的研发人才短缺,尤其是在新兴的精准医药领域。这导致的一个结果就是该领域人才的薪资将明显高于市场平均水平,短缺严重的人才会获得约20%的加薪、更好的工作条件和职业生涯发展机会。

生命科学产业在中国大陆内部和外部的影响力正在提升——研究者们发布更多研究论文,而政府继续通过投资支持产业发展,规范和改良全国医疗系统以应对新兴富裕阶层相关的疾病。在此环境下,各公司将继续寻求人才。

无论人才是来自本土培养,在美国顶级实验室中成长,还是来自被中国广阔市场所吸引的外国公司,他们都要向雇主展现自己。各公司希望寻找能够有所作为、有独到之处的人才,因为只有这么做,中国大陆才有希望实现超越美国、达成生命科学产业领导者的目标。

如果您希望更深度地讨论这份报告,或谈一谈您的求职及招聘需求,请发送邮件至Jack.Gong@hays.cn联系瀚纳仕生命科学领域高级经理Jack Gong。