The Inside Story of Digital Tech in China

The Inside Story of Digital Tech in China

While the spotlight this year may have been on China’s disrupted supply chain market, the explosive growth of the country’s digital tech sector has steadily continued on its path to world dominance. Consistent government support and a booming tech ecosystem has led to China becoming a leader in technologies and platforms such as e-commerce, cloud, data science, and particularly artificial intelligence. Both public and private investments in these spaces are expected to stay strong, while a softening economy has brought digital transformation to the forefront as companies look to change their strategy to focus on operational transformation and generating efficiencies. For the digital tech job market, this means a sustained, albeit slightly slower growth in hiring, while for companies, this has resulted in renewed efforts to improve employer branding and focus on digitalisation.

Labour market overview: A period of unparalleled development in AI & digital transformation

Beginning in 2013 and up until the first quarter of this year, 60 per cent of all funds raised globally for AI projects went to those in China, making it the hottest sector to attract financing, according to a report by Tsinghua University in July. Last year, Chinese companies accounted for 70 per cent of the US$39.5 billion raised worldwide for AI investments, fitting in with the government’s vision of becoming the world leader in AI technology by 2030. “China is no longer the ‘world’s factory’ like before, but a leading innovator in technology,” says Andy Wang, Team Manager for Hays China. “Beijing and Shanghai are two major cities that have made tech innovation a priority, and have been applying new technologies like e-commerce, data, cloud and AI in everything from living to studying to working.” The extent of this is perhaps best illustrated by the recent story of how an AI programme helped identify and prevent the potential suicide of a student in China.

In addition to this, China has become a hotbed for tech start-ups, leading to a surge in demand for technical candidates like engineers. “This has led to a skill shortage in the market,” explains Fred Zhu, Business Director for Hays China “But over the last 6 months, we have observed a slight slowdown in hiring, partly due to the ongoing US-China trade war as well as a slowing economy. As a result, many companies and traditional industries are struggling to maintain the same revenue growth as previous years; leading them to look at digital tech or digital transformation to drive their profits and connect with their customers.”

The consistent focus on technological progress contributed to an extremely job rich and candidate short market that has only recently begun to improve. “MNCs used to invest heavily into their tech centres in China but are now looking at other locations to base their tech teams. Similarly, companies were previously hiring in excess and offering lucrative packages during the internet industry boom a few years ago. But many have realised that this is not a sustainable model,” says Fred. However, the market remains firmly in the favour of candidates, who companies are now trying to attract through elements like work-life balance, Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and innovative project, rather than unsustainable 30 per cent hikes in salary.

Skills in demand: AI engineering, software development, digital transformation & cyber security

Unsurprisingly, AI talent is the most in demand in China, particularly in Shanghai and Beijing. Of these, mid-senior level roles comprise the majority, with most being related to engineering. This includes algorithm engineers stationed in AI centres, as well as engineers in machine learning, data mining, natural language processing (NLP) and R&D. “The ideal candidate for such roles would have at least 3-5 years of experience and solid technical skills. A bachelor’s degree in computer science from a top university is a must, along with experience gained from working in high tech companies. Even better would be experience in a start-up environment as employers prefer candidates who are resilient and open minded,” says Andy.

For senior candidates in the AI space, hands-on tech skills are a fundamental requirement but ‘zero to one’ knowledge, or experience in building a business from scratch, has become the most sought after. These candidates can expect to receive premium packages, but as Andy explains, “Money is not key at this moment – the company’s funding team, investors, product and business model is what candidates are considering.”

In other parts of China, there is still a significant focus on software engineering, including coding and developing programs and mobile apps. For popular junior-mid level roles like software engineers, mobile app developers, QA/testing roles and data analysts, more employers are increasingly seeking good English communication skills alongside sound technical qualifications, says Fred. “A lot of domestic companies are branching out internationally and MNCs are taking more direction from the western countries too – so English has become a big requirement.” Another interesting development is the emphases on ‘culture fit’ when hiring, meaning that while most companies still put candidates through rigorous technical interviews, they are now including meeting a variety of team members as another form of evaluation.

While the most in-demand senior roles across China include CTOs and data scientists, there has been a rising demand for a new type of digital leadership role says Fred. “Commonly called ‘digital transformation director’ or ‘digital director’, employees in this role are tasked with helping switch a business from traditional methods to new digital or innovative ways of working.” Such candidates can expect top-of-line packages, as this process was previously tasked to consulting companies. “But right now, the big MNCs are moving away from engaging consultants to hire for themselves – both as a cost saving measure and a way to drive continuous transformation in their business,” says Fred.

Security – be it cyber security or information security, is a function that underlies all developments in digital tech. Consequently, there has been steady hiring growth and increasing salaries in this space, particularly within mid-senior levels.

Employers drive better branding; candidates with personal projects are preferred

Considering the candidate short nature of the current digital tech market in China, it has become imperative for employers to cultivate a brand that will attract excellent candidates. This has led to more companies investing in CSR programs, as well as marketing on LinkedIn and other platforms to display their culture, employees, and emphasize their actual working environments. As Fred explains, “Last year saw a number of Chinese companies receive flack for their culture of ‘9-9-6’ or working 9am-9pm 6 days a week. A lot of companies are trying to move away from this and show that they care about their employees.” In fact, top tier tech companies in China are being likened to US-tech giants like Google or Uber, says Andy, “They do everything to attract and retain their staff, from investing in marketing and branding for recruiting to providing employee benefits like mental health care.”

For candidates looking to receive the best offers on the market, English skills would certainly help set them apart, as would a personal project. “It is quite important for engineers to have their own personal project and upload it on a platform like Github for potential employers to see. During interview stages, many employers want to see how motivated and passionate a candidate is about the industry and such pet projects are expected of any good software engineer.”

Candidates in the digital tech space looking to further future-proof their careers could look into upskilling in other emerging technologies such as IoT, blockchain and RPA (robotic process automation). With such technologies continuously changing and shaping the world we live in, the possibility of new roles being created is endless. With the government and global investors on its side, China’s digital tech sector is set to lead the world into the future.

If you would like to discuss this report in more depth or you wish to discuss your job search or recruitment needs, please email

East China: Fred Zhu at Fred.Zhu@hays.cn 

North China: Claire Yang at Claire.Yang@hays.cn; Andy Wang at Andy.Wang@hays.cn

South China: Sylvia Lau at Sylvia.Lau@hays.cn

中国大陆数字技术行业报告

中国大陆数字技术行业报告

尽管今年的焦点可能是中国被扰乱的供应链市场,但中国数字技术行业的爆炸式增长同样不容忽视,该行业正逐渐在全球各类行业中占据主导地位。政府的一贯支持以及蓬勃发展的技术生态系统使中国成为数字技术的领导者,如电子商务、云计算、数据科学,特别是人工智能。这些领域的公共和私人投资预计将保持强劲势头,而疲软的经济促使许多企业将数字化转型提上日程,以期改变战略,着力进行运营转型并提高效率。对于数字技术人才市场,这意味着招聘增长将持续,尽管略有放缓;同时,这将促使企业重新努力提升雇主品牌,并将重点放在数字化上。

劳动力市场概况:人工智能和数字转型的空前发展期

清华大学今年7月发布的一份报告显示,从2013年到今年第一季度,全球为人工智能项目筹集的所有资金中,60%流向了中国,这使得人工智能成为中国最吸引资金的行业。去年,全球人工智能投资总额达395亿美元,其中中国公司的投资占70%,响应了中国政府“到2030年前成为人工智能技术的全球领导者”的这一愿景。瀚纳仕北京团队经理Andy Wang表示:“中国已经从过去的‘世界工厂’变成了技术创新的领导者。北京和上海将技术创新作为首要任务,并在生活、学习、工作等各个领域积极运用各种新技术,如电子商务、数据、云计算和AI。”最近,关于AI程序如何帮助识别和防止中国学生出现潜在自杀倾向的新闻很好地说明这一点。

除此之外,各种有利条件使中国涌现出大量科技初创企业,导致对工程师等技术人才的需求激增。瀚纳仕上海业务总监Fred Zhu说道:“这导致了市场上的技能短缺。我们看到,在过去6个月里,招聘需求出现轻微放缓,部分原因是目前的中美贸易战以及经济放缓。因此,许多公司和传统行业难以维持与前几年相同的收入增长,他们希望通过数字技术或数字转型来提高利润并与客户建立联系。”

由于对技术发展的持续关注,导致就业机会激增、市场人才短缺,这一状况直到最近才开始改善。Fred 说道:“过去,跨国公司在中国的技术中心进行大量投资,但现在,他们正在寻找其他地点来建立技术团队。同样,几年前,在互联网行业的繁荣期,不少公司过度招聘,并为适合的应聘者提供丰厚的薪酬。但现在,许多雇主意识到这不是一种可持续的模式。”尽管如此,招聘市场仍然对求职者有利,不少企业正试图用确保工作与生活平衡、企业社会责任(CSR)和创新项目等条件来吸引人才,而不是涨薪30% ——毕竟,这种做法是不可持续的。

高需求技能:人工智能工程、软件开发、数字转型和网络安全

不出所料,在中国,尤其是上海和北京,人工智能方面的人才需求量最大。在这些职位中,中高级职位占大多数,且大部份与工程有关。包括在人工智能中心工作的算法工程师,以及机器学习、数据挖掘、自然语言处理(NLP)和研发工程师。“理想人选需要至少具有3-5年的经验和扎实的技术技能;必须拥有顶尖大学的计算机科学学士学位,以及高科技公司的工作经验。最好在初创企业工作过,因为雇主更喜欢那些适应能力强、思想开放的应聘者。”

对于人工智能领域的高级求职者,扎实的技术技能是基本要求,而“从零到一”(从零开始创业)的经验最受青睐。这类人才有望得到额外的报酬,但就像Andy所说的那样:“目前钱不是关键。企业的融资团队、投资者、产品和业务模式才是求职者所考虑的。”

在中国其他地区,软件工程(包括编码、开发程序和移动应用)方面的人才依然走俏。对于软件工程师、移动应用开发人员、QA/测试人员和数据分析师等热门初、中级职位,越来越多的雇主在寻求过硬的技术资质的同时,还希望应聘者具备良好的英语沟通能力。Fred 透露:“许多国内的公司正在向国外扩张,跨国公司与西方国家的沟通也越来越密切,因此英语能力是一项很重要的要求。”

另一个有趣的趋势是招聘时对“文化契合度”的重视,也就是说,虽然大多数公司仍然会对应聘者进行严格的技术面试,但现在,他们还会安排应聘者与各类团队成员见面,将此作为另一种评估形式。

尽管中国最受欢迎的高级职位包括首席技术官和数据科学家,但市场对新型数字领导人才的需求一直在增长。Fred 表示:“这类职位通常称为‘数字化转型总监’或‘数字总监’,他们的任务是帮助企业从传统办公转型为新的数字或创新办公。”这类人才有望得到顶级薪酬,因为这项工作之前是由咨询公司来完成的。“目前,大型跨国公司正从聘请顾问转向组建自己的内部团队,以此来控制成本并确保持续的业务转型。”他补充道。

安全——无论是网络安全还是信息安全,都是数字技术发展的基础。因此,这一领域的招聘一直在稳步增长,薪资也在不断提高,尤其是中高级职位。

雇主推动品牌塑造;拥有个人项目的候选人优先

鉴于目前中国数字技术市场人才短缺,雇主必须打造一个能够吸引优秀人才的品牌。因此,越来越多的公司开始投资企业社会责任项目,并在领英(LinkedIn)和其他平台上进行宣传,展示他们的文化、员工以及他们真实的工作环境。正如Fred所说的那样:“去年,许多中国企业因为他们‘9-9-6’(每周工作六天、工作时间为上午9点至晚上9点)的文化而受到抨击。当前,很多公司都在努力改变这种模式,并展现对员工的关怀。”事实上,经常有人将中国的顶级科技公司与美国的谷歌或优步等科技巨头相提并论。“从营销投资和品牌推广,到为员工提供心理辅导等福利,他们正竭尽所能吸引和留住员工。”Andy说道。

对于那些希望得到市场上最佳工作机会的求职者,英语技能无疑会帮助他们脱颖而出,就像个人项目一样。“对工程师来说,拥有个人项目并将其上传到Github这样的平台上供潜在雇主参考是非常重要的。在面试阶段,许多雇主希望看到应聘者对行业的积极性和热情,他们也希望所有优秀的软件工程师都拥有自己的项目。” 在数字技术领域,我们建议那些想要在未来更有保障的求职者,提升物联网、区块链和机器人流程自动化(RPA)等新兴技术领域的技能。随着这些技术持续改变和塑造我们所生活的世界,未来的新职位充满无限可能性。在政府和全球投资者的支持下,中国的数字技术行业将引领世界走向未来。

如果您想更深入地讨论此报告,或者讨论您的求职或招聘需求,请发邮件至:

East China:华东地区:Fred Zhu Fred.Zhu@hays.cn

North China: 华北地区:Claire Yang Claire.Yang@hays.cn ; Andy Wang Andy.Wang@hays.cn

South China:华南地区:Sylvia Lau Sylvia.Lau@hays.cn