Hays blog promo blocks

Leadership viewpoints

Check out our latest suggestion on leadership, hiring and other advise for employers.

Read more

Career progression

We aim to provide you advise and guidance when seeking job or asking for promotion.

Read more

Hiring insights

We help employers on talent attracting and retaining with our expertise.

Read more

Office locator

Office locator

Get started with our recruitment expertise.

Find your nearest office

“The Great Resignation”: why are so many thinking about quitting?

“The Great Resignation”: why are so many thinking about quitting?

 

That’s it. They’ve had enough. Enough of the endless Teams calls. Enough of putting their career development on hold. Enough of feeling unsupported, overloaded, and overlooked by their employers.
 
If the reports are true, record numbers of people around the world have come to the realisation that, for them, enough is enough and are considering voluntarily leaving their jobs.
 
Seven reasons why so many people are considering leaving their jobs

According to Microsoft’s 2021 Work Trend Index, 41 per cent of people are likely to consider leaving their jobs within the next year. That’s a very high number indeed.
 
It’s been dubbed the “The Great Resignation” by organisational psychologist, Dr Anthony Klotz, and for good reason. As with the other ‘Greats’ we’ve witnessed across history, take “The Great Recession”, or “The Great Depression”, for instance, the impact could be monumental.
 
Just think about the implications for a minute. If you’re a business leader, almost half of your entire workforce may, right now, be thinking about leaving you. Where does that put your growth plans? Your customers? Your bottom line? Just when you thought you could see light at the end of the COVID-19 tunnel and get back to resurrecting your business, your greatest assets are leaving you.
 
Before we dive into the reasons before this unprecedented movement of talent, it’s important to note that certain demographics of society appear to be more open to the idea of quitting than others. As explained in this Guardian piece, “Socioeconomic differences will shape who is quitting and why.”
 
  • Blue collar workers: In this piece, Sandra Sucher, Harvard Business School professor and author of the forthcoming “The Power of Trust”, noted that low-wage workers are particularly motivated to change jobs with even marginally better offers. As explained in this BBC article, “Many retail and service workers are departing in favour of entry-level positions elsewhere – in warehouses or offices, for instance – that actually pay less, but offer more benefits, upward mobility and compassion. With employers across the board looking for new hires, many have found it’s easy to find another job and make the transition.”
 
  • Gen Z: Microsoft’s research found that 54 per cent of Generation Z workers could be considering handing in their resignation, and pointed to the fact that “…Gen Z reported difficulties feeling engaged and excited about work, getting a word in during meetings, and bringing new ideas to the table.”
 
  • Mid-career workers and managers: Research from people analytics firm, Visier, found that the cohort of employees aged between 30-45 years old saw large increases in resignations between August 2019 and August 2020, signalling that those who are more established in their careers are more likely to consider to switching jobs. Plus, as of December 2020, resignations among managers were 12 per cent higher than the previous year.

So, what’s behind this predicted mass exodus of talent? What’s triggering people to want to leave their jobs in such vast numbers?
 
1. They finally feel confident searching for a new job

According to Klotz, those people who had planned on leaving their jobs pre-pandemic but decided to hold off due to the instability caused by COVID-19, are now resuming their job searches with a new-found gusto. As a result, the backlog of resignations that have built up over the last 18 months are now beginning to clear.
 
This is hardly surprising. With rising vaccination rates globally, and the gradual opening up of economies, we’re seeing a seismic shift in the job market and confidence returning almost everywhere in the world. This sentiment is echoed by Neil Carberry, chief executive at the UK-based the Recruitment and Employment Confederation (REC), who said, "The jobs market is improving at the fastest pace we have ever seen, but it is still an unpredictable time."  In fact, our own UK & Ireland Salary Guide revealed that 63 per cent of employers are currently recruiting. There are more opportunities out there than there have been in a long time, so many feel now is the right time to finally make their move. But what else is at play?
 
2. They’ve been given the time and space to reflect on both their personal and professional lives

If people weren’t already considering looking for a new role before the pandemic hit, then chances are that they are now. According to our recent LinkedIn poll of over 25k people, 74 per cent said that the pandemic has made them consider their job or career choices.
 
Whether it’s feeling unsupported on a number of levels by their employers, or the fact that, as Klotz argues, we’ve all been forced to confront our own mortality in a way that we’ve never had to before, for many, the pandemic has afforded people the time and space to reflect on their working lives – something that many have never had the luxury of doing before.
 
As explained in LinkedIn’s ‘Hello Monday’ podcast, lots of people have simply realised that life is too short to do a job they don’t love, for a company they don’t think cares about them.
 
3. They just don’t want to go back to the office…ever

After 18 months of working from their own homes, where they are the ones in control, doing their jobs in a way that works best for them and enjoying the freedom to live their personal lives alongside their 9-5’s, some just don’t want to go back to the office. This, coupled with the fact that many have already relocated or are planning to in order to be closer to family or to achieve the lifestyle they’ve always dreamt of, the prospect of having to return to the office has been a big trigger to leave for many people. This is reflected by Microsoft’s research, which found that 46 per cent of people say they’re likely to move because they can work remotely now.
 
But is returning to the office, at least part of the time, really going to be as bad in reality as what many have convinced themselves it will be in their own minds? Lots of people, including myself, feel they have re-discovered a newfound sense of connection with people that they have been lacking for over a year, just by going into the office a couple of days a week.
 
In my mind, both our homes and our offices have a part to play in enabling us to lead fulfilling working lives, but I appreciate that not everyone feels that way.
 
4. They’re burned out

We’ve seen the headlines - burnout right now is real and it’s rife. According to Microsoft’s survey:
 
  • 37 per cent of the global workforce say their companies are asking too much of them at a time like this
  • One in five think their employer doesn’t care about their work-life balance
  • 54 per cent feel overworked and 39 per cent feel exhausted
  • The average Microsoft Teams user is sending 42 per cent more chats after hours, with 50 per cent of people responding to Teams chats within five minutes
Microsoft argues that these frightening stats “…prove the intensity of the workday, and that what is expected of workers during this time has increased significantly.” I’d have to agree. It’s no wonder so many people are reconsidering their job options.
 
Technology has been the Great Enabler for us all to continue to do our jobs and keep our economies and societies from total collapse over the last 18 months. Imagine if we had had to cope with a global pandemic just a few years ago without Teams and Zoom, no fast internet, no mobiles, no online banking/shopping/food delivery/Netflix/everything else that enables our lives today? If this had happened 20 years ago, I’m not sure how we would have kept working, so technology has been our saviour. But technology has also blurred the lines between work and private life and the level of burnout and exhaustion is unsustainable.
 
5. They want to hit ‘play’ on their career growth

Everyone wants to feel that they are moving forward, that they are on the path to personal growth and success. The need to feel a sense of progress is an innately human one, but it’s a feeling many haven’t necessarily experienced for a long time.
 
Many have put their own personal development on pause. Instead, they’ve been busy keeping the businesses they work for afloat. Upskilling for many has been off the radar, a secondary concern that can wait until tomorrow, the next month or even the next year.
 
That mindset is starting to shift, with many reaching for the ‘play’ button again. High performing workers, according to research from Axios, are the most concerned about their career advancement in their current job, with 75 per cent of people saying the pandemic has made them question their skillsets.
 
Unfortunately, many feel that to reach the next level and achieve their goals, they have no choice but to move jobs. To me, this is a wholly avoidable challenge and one that employers should be tackling head on. It’s well known that career progression is a crucial factor in employee engagement in an organisation. Without it, people who want to get on will go elsewhere and create value for someone else. And those that stay may well not be as engaged in your success as you hope or think.
 
6. They are motivated by financial reasons

For those who have continued to work during the pandemic, their savings have probably increased. Without the commuting costs, the after-work drinks, the meals out or lunches in, most have actually managed to save money. This financial cushion has led many to feel more confident to make a move, or even to leave a job without having another lined up. For many, this financial freedom has given them more space to make the career decisions that are right for them.
 
Secondly, thanks to sites like Glassdoor and salary.com, people now have more visibility than ever before into exactly what salary their own unique skillset and experience can command. And, when they do decide to move, particularly those working in tech and life sciences, they often realise a 15-20 per cent salary increase. These numbers can make a big difference to someone’s finances and I’m sure are a huge driver behind all the movement we’re seeing in the market.
 
7. They’ve realised they don’t actually like their jobs

Without the welcome distractions and colleague camaraderie that comes with working in an office, many people have been left to just do their jobs at home. And, with all of the peripheral interactions and distractions stripped back, many have realised that they don’t actually enjoy the work they do, especially when they don’t have all the other softer stuff to break up their days. The reality of what they do has really hit them.
 
On top of that, despite the constant Teams calls and chats, many are feeling disconnected from their teams, their managers and their organisations, as explained by Cassie Whitlock, head of human resources for BambooHR, “Many have lost a sense of connection to the workplace,” she says. “Even if they’re getting time with their manager, we discovered they’re having fewer interactions, and the quality of those interactions is diminished. They’re not having a feeling of genuine connection. They feel less seen, recognized, and appreciated.”
 
As a result, there’s been a huge rise in people choosing to go it alone and set up their own solo ventures. According to the National Bureau of Economic Statistics, the pace of new business applications since mid-2020 has been the highest on record, and across the course of the pandemic there’s been a rise in side hustles. This is echoed by Microsoft’s research which found that 46 per cent of people are planning to make a major career pivot or transition.
 
So…do you think “The Great Resignation” is really going to happen? Or is it already here?
 
If you’re planning to be part of it, what are your reasons for wanting to quit?
 
And on the flip side, as a leader, what are you doing to attract and retain your talent? What lessons have you learnt from the pandemic that will help you do that? Here at Hays, we are consciously looking at those lessons to design a better business for all in the future, but that’s not a simple or trivial process as there are so many facets to consider.

瀚纳仕博客模块

领导力洞察

阅读我们关于领导力、招聘和其他方面对雇主的建议。

职场建议

我们能为您提供求职或晋升的建议和指导。

招聘见解

我们用专业知识帮助雇主吸引和留任人才。

阅读更多

联系我们

联系我们

与我们的招聘专家取得联系。

寻找您附近的瀚纳仕办公室

大辞职潮:为什么这么多人在考虑辞职?

大辞职潮:为什么这么多人在考虑辞职?

 

没错,他们受够了。受够了无休止的电话会议。受够了事业停滞不前。受够了不被支持、超负荷工作和被雇主忽视的感觉。

报告显示(如果报告属实),世界各地许多人意识到,他们受够了,并且正在考虑自愿离职。

如此多的人考虑离职的七大原因 

微软“2021年工作趋势指数”显示,41%的人考虑在未来一年内离职。这个比例确实很高。

组织心理学家安东尼·克洛茨(Anthony Klotz)博士将其称为“大辞职潮”,这并非空穴来风。像历史上的其他“大XX”(如“大衰退”、“大萧条”)一样,其影响可能是巨大的。

花几分钟时间想一想,如果你是一名企业高管,你的整个员工队伍中有近一半人在考虑离职,你的增长计划要怎么办?你的客户怎么办?你要如何盈利?正当你认为疫情接近尾声,业务就要回到正轨时,你最重要的资产纷纷离你远去。

在深入探讨这种前所未有的人才流动的原因之前,我们要认识到,某些人群似乎比其他人更愿意接受辞职的想法。正如这篇《卫报》文章中所解释的:“社会经济差异决定了谁会辞职以及为什么辞职。”
 
  • 蓝领工人:这篇文章中,哈佛商学院教授、即将出版的《信任的力量》(The Power of Trust)一书的作者桑德拉·苏切尔(Sandra Sucher)指出,低薪工人尤其渴望换工作,即使新岗位的待遇只比之前好一点点。BBC的文章认为:“许多零售和服务行业的工人打算离职,去其他地方做入门级的工作,比如仓库或办公室。这些职位实际上薪水较低,但有更多的福利和升迁机会,上司也更有同情心。所有行业的雇主都在寻找新员工,因此许多人发现很容易找到新工作作为过渡。”
 
  • Z世代:微软的研究发现,54%的Z世代员工正在考虑递交辞呈,并指出:“……Z世代表示,对工作,他们很难有投入或兴奋的感觉,他们也不愿意在会议上发表意见或分享新想法。”
 
  • 中级员工和管理人员:人力分析公司Visier的研究发现,在2019年8月和2020年8月之间,年龄在30-45岁之间的员工群体的辞职人数大幅增加。这表明那些在事业上更有建树的人更有可能考虑换工作。此外,截至2020年12月,管理人员的辞职率比前一年高出12%。

造成人才大量流失的原因究竟是什么?是什么促使人们想要离职,而且数量如此庞大?

1. 大家终于有信心寻找新的工作

克洛茨认为,那些在疫情爆发前就打算离职,但由于疫情造成的不稳定而决定暂缓的人,现在正以一种新的姿态重新开始找工作。因此,那些在过去18个月里积压的辞呈现在纷纷摆上了桌面。

这并不令人惊讶。随着全球疫苗接种率的上升,以及经济的逐步开放,我们看到,就业市场发生了翻天覆地的变化,世界上几乎所有地方都在恢复信心。英国招聘和就业联合会(REC)首席执行官尼尔·卡伯里(Neil Carberry)也有同感,他说:“就业市场正在以空前的速度发生改观,但目前仍然充满了变数。”瀚纳仕《英国和爱尔兰薪酬指南》显示,63%的雇主正在招聘。现在的机会比过去很长一段时间都要多,所以许多人觉得现在是行动的正确时机。除了这些因素,还有什么在起作用呢?

2. 他们有时间和空间来反思生活和工作 

那些在疫情前没有考虑换工作的人很可能现在正在考虑。我们最近在领英上对25000多人进行了调查,其中74%的人表示,疫情让他们开始考虑自己的工作或职业选择。

无论是觉得自己在很多方面得不到雇主的支持,还是像克洛茨所说的那样,我们被迫以一种前所未有的方式来面对自己的死亡。对许多人来说,这场疫情提供了充分的时间和空间来反思自己的职业生涯——这是许多人以前从未奢望过的事。

正如领英的Hello Monday播客所说,很多人意识到,生命太短暂,没有理由做自己不喜欢的工作,为一个对自己漠不关心的公司奉献一生。

3. 他们就是不想回到办公室......永远不想

在过去的18个月里,他们在家办公,可以自己控制节奏,以最适合自己的方式工作,在朝九晚五之外享受个人生活,有些人就是不想回到办公室。再加上许多人已经或正在计划搬迁,以便离家人更近或过上一直梦想的生活。不得不回到办公室是促使许多人考虑离职的重要因素。微软的研究证明了这一点:46%的人说他们可能会搬家,因为他们现在可以远程办公。

然而,回到办公室(至少部分时间),真的像许多人想象的那样糟吗?很多人,包括我自己,在回到办公室后重新找到了与人联系的感觉,而这种感觉是一年多来所缺乏的——过去这段时间他们只需每周去办公室几天。

在我看来,家和办公室都能充实我们的工作生活,但我也理解,不是每个人都有这种感觉。

4. 他们疲惫不堪

到处都是有关职业倦怠的新闻。根据微软的调查
 
 
  • 全球37%的员工说公司在这种特殊时期对他们的要求太高了
  • 1/5的人觉得雇主不在意他们工作与生活的平衡
  • 54%的人感到过度劳累,39%的人感到疲惫不堪
Microsoft Teams的普通用户在下班时间后发送消息的频率增加了42%,50%的人在5分钟内回复了Teams聊天内容

微软认为,“这些可怕的统计数字证明,在工作日,员工的工作强度太高,雇主对员工的期望大幅增加”。我同意。难怪这么多人在考虑换工作。

在过去的18个月里,技术一直是保证我们不停工并使经济和社会不至于完全崩溃的主要力量。想象一下,如果全球疫情发生在过去,没有Teams和Zoom,没有高速互联网,没有手机,没有网上银行/购物/食品配送/Netflix以及其他的种种,我们今天的生活会是什么样?如果这一切发生在20年前,我无法想象我们能如何继续工作,所以技术一直是我们的救星,但技术也模糊了工作和私人生活之间的界限,导致倦怠和疲惫。

5. 他们想按下职业发展的“播放”键

每个人都想要不断进步,看到自己走在个人成长和成功的道路上。感受进步是人类与生俱来的需求,但很多人已经很久没有体验过这种感觉了。

许多人暂停了个人发展,疲于应对手上的工作,不再将技能提升提上日程——这是一个次要问题,可以等到明天、下个月甚至下一年。

这种心态正在转变,许多人重新按下了“播放”键。Axios的研究显示,高绩效员工最关心他们在当前岗位上的职业发展,75%的人说疫情让他们开始质疑自己的技能。

不幸的是,许多人认为,要进入更高的层次、实现他们的目标,他们别无选择,只能换工作。而我认为,这是一个完全可以避开的挑战,也是雇主应该正面解决的问题。众所周知,职业发展是影响敬业度的一个关键因素,如果没有发展空间,那些想要上进的人就会选择去别的地方,为其他雇主创造价值,而那些留下来的人很可能并不像你希望或想象的那样对你的成功感兴趣。

6. 经济原因

那些在疫情期间继续工作的人可能积累了一些储蓄——没有通勤费,没有下班后的“喝一杯”,没有外出就餐,大多数人省了不少钱。这种经济上的缓冲让他们更有信心跳槽,甚至“裸辞”。这种财务自由给了许多人更多的空间来做出适合自己的职业决定。

其次,因为有Glassdoor和salary.com这样的网站,让人们比以往任何时候都更了解自己独特的技能和经验所能获得的薪水。尤其是科技和生命科学行业的专业人士跳槽后的涨薪幅度为15-20%。这些数字对一个人的财务状况有很大的影响,我相信这也是市场上所有人才流动背后的巨大动因。

7. 他们意识到自己其实并不喜欢现在的工作

没有了办公室的热闹和同事间的友谊,许多只能在家办公的人意识到,除去所有的外围互动和干扰,自己其实并不喜欢现在的工作,尤其是缺少了其他有趣的东西来打发日子时。现实真的打击到了他们。

除此之外,尽管Teams会议和聊天不断,许多人还是感到与团队、经理和组织脱节,正如BambooHR的人力资源总监卡西·怀特洛克管(Cassie Whitlock)所说的那样:“许多人失去了与工作场所的联系感。即使他们有时间和经理碰面,他们也会发现互动变少了,互动的质量也降低了。他们没有真正与人联系的感觉,他们感到自己没有被看到,没有被认可,也没有被欣赏。”

因此,越来越多的人选择独自创业。根据国家经济统计局的数据,自2020年年中以来,新企业申请的速度达到了有史以来的最高水平;疫情期间,副业也在增加。微软的研究也印证了这一点:46%的人正计划做出重大的职业转变或过渡。
 
 
你认为大辞职潮真的会发生吗?还是它已经来了?

如果你也打算辞职,你的理由是什么?

反过来,作为领导,你正在做什么来吸引和保留人才?你从这场疫情中获得了哪些教训,能帮助你做到这一点?瀚纳仕正在研究这些经验教训,以便在未来为所有人设计更好的企业,但这不是一个简单的过程,有许多方面需要考虑。